Spring time in Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
September 2nd 2004
Published: September 2nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

The Art Gallery of South AustraliaThe Art Gallery of South AustraliaThe Art Gallery of South Australia

Beautiful spring time in Adelaide! Blessed with a mediterranean climate, it sure is a real treat.
Another 18 days to go before my travels and am already feeling homesick! It’s always an anxious time to be out of the comfort zone and Adelaide is all that to me and more. Today is a bit of a shocker as I had just been told by my program co-ordinator that I cannot leave for Europe until I had submitted my report on his desk by close of business tomorrow, (a paper on South East Asian Labour Relations) which I have kept on putting off. No more. After my ultimatum, I am now in front of my computer screen wondering where to begin. It is not a hard task but I already caught the travel itch and my mind is already elsewhere...



Meanwhile, while twiddling my thumbs, I am going to do my very first blog entry.



Well, today was a bit hectic as I was looking for the 'best deal' possible for a round-the-world ticket. I did all sorts of combinations with air and surface and surprised the ticketing agent with my knowledge of airport codes (yes I am a bit of a geek, memorizing airport codes when I am bored!), familiarizing myself with aircraft seating layouts (one can
The Art Gallery of South Australia (pre renovation)The Art Gallery of South Australia (pre renovation)The Art Gallery of South Australia (pre renovation)

The gallery is worth a visit with its extensive collection, my favourite is the J. W. Waterhouse, Circe invidiosa, 1892, London. Check out their extensive European and Australian collections. Great way to kill time and its free!
be forgiven for thinking strange of me). I know that I am the client from hell and even I would look for an excuse to not have to serve myself (lol!).


My travel agent gave me a demented look when I asked about what sort of aircraft I would be flying in and specified my seat number (I am fanatical about legroom, odd considering I am 5’7 short). I told her to make sure that on a particular aircraft I needed to be seated on a certain seat number and would like a night flight on the longest leg of the journey. I am always excited to arrive in a city very early in the morning, lots of commuters to contend with but plenty of time to orientate myself. Anyway that is the plan.


For international readers planning to come to Adelaide, I can honestly say that it is a wonderful city (especially as a student). Why? Because in comparison to Sydney or Melbourne, the rent is cheap, the transport system is superb, it has a somewhat relaxed atmosphere (due to a mere 1 million pop.), and an abundance of coffee shops, restaurants and pubs. The beach and the

Not a shameless plug! All coffeed out hyper and jumpy.
bush is a short distance away, and the city itself is not overwhelming, not too big, and just right.


Rundle Street East (the East End) is a great place to shop for backpacking gear (5 shops I think), coffee shops and decadent restaurants (more restaurants per capita, I have been told). Close by, are the University of Adelaide and the University of South Australia. Flinders University is about 30 minutes away by bus. I spend a lot of my free time in Cibo Espresso down at Rundle Street East for my java fix and there is always a copy of the Financial Review or The Australian lying about on the second floor smoking area (not that I smoke). I like hearing the night time traffic (the second floor has open windows) while I have coffee and reading the paper. Strange as that may sound, I find comfort in the hustle and bustle of a metropolitan city like Adelaide. To me, it’s like the sound of a finely tuned and oiled machine with its efficient humming buzz. Nice to see the alfresco style restaurants below, packed full of people on the second day of spring. There is plenty of chatter,

My regular spot in the corner. A quiet splendid afternoon.
chinking of glasses, loud and drunken conversations and people generally having a good time.

Not bad at all for a Thursday night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb