Urrbrae, Adelaide, South Australia -Week 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide » Sturt River
October 28th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a week since I left my partner and move into the house-sitting assignment. I am schedule to be here until November 20th.

This house is large, 4 bedrooms, modern kitchen, pool and a gorgeous mellow white labrador named Chelsea. The family is going to South Africa and England for a month and I have been trusted to take care of Chelsea and the home.

It is a beautiful area I am in, large house, leafy streets, on the foot of the Adelaide Hills. The house was probably built in the 30s or 40s and would have been quite the stately house in its day - and it still is lovely.

Adelaide is my home town and I took this assignment to give me an extra month of income before I travel. I am working fulltime and basically have no expenses, well just food, mobile internet ($30 a month) and petrol and occasional things like car rego, website memberships etc.

Since I have been here I haven't really done much to meet my goals, probably because I haven't really written them down or even defined them.

I have however bought a better car to take with me. Its a 1990 Subaru Liberty wagon in very good condition. Its a manual transmission which I have not driven before but I think I may have started learning to drive in one (about 20years ago), LOL. It will come back to me and I am sure I will develop some confidence in the next few weeks - lots of open road to practice on. I paid $2700, my friend is a car salesman and he thinks it is a good honest car for me. It does need a new muffler, service and a couple of fan belts and hoses changed (just because I am travelling so far).

I also sold my overlocker which is $280 - woo hooo!

I still need to sell my old car, which I am hoping to get $2000 for. I need to get it detailed, get a puncture fixed and it should sell fairly quickly. Its a 1991 Suzuki Swift, low km, auto and great reliable car - just too small for the trip. I will need it sold and gone by the 19th of November. I plan to have it listed by next weekend so that gives it 2 weeks.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb