Changes in Latitude, Changes in Attitude


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide » Glenelg
February 10th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the road again... On the road again... On the road again...

I can't wait to get that sweet backpack on again!

"What you've done becomes the judge of what you're going to do - especially in other people's minds... When you're traveling, you are what you are, right there and then... People don't have your past to hold against you... There are no yesterdays on the road.."




As the days count down to my next adventure, I find myself singing constantly.. whether it's humming in the car or just sitting at work with the song continuously playing in my head, the same old song loops itself in my brain....

"On the road again
Just can't wait to get on the road again.
The life I love is making music with my friends
And I can't wait to get on the road again.
On the road again
Goin' places that I've never been.
Seein' things that I may never see again"


Good ole Willie Nelson... maybe listening to that song blaring out of my parents stereo speakers is what planted the travel bug in me.. or was it when my parents packed me up at the age of 4 to live in a tiny village in Papua New Guinea.. or maybe it was when I was 11 and my
McKay and I getting up to mischief in Vietnam McKay and I getting up to mischief in Vietnam McKay and I getting up to mischief in Vietnam

I am sure we will have just as much fun this time!
parents took me on a tour through Europe on a Trafalgar Bus.. something like 14 countries in as many days (that is possibly where I discovered my fear of organised package holidays!!)

Anyway thats a bit off the tangent.... its almost time to fly away again and I am super excited... Big plans for a very short period of time! I head off on the 13th flying into Melbourne early... here I will be meeting up with all my Melbourne buddies for a boozy day at the St Kilda Festival (how convenient that just happened to fall on the one day I am in Melbourne!) , before being at the airport for a midnight flight to Kuala Lumpur ( I love you, Air Asia) .. I'm not sure drinking all day in Melbourne is the BEST plan before an overnight flight (think hangover mid air) but hey, always up for an adventure... and I will chalk it up as an experience, whatever the outcome... Repeat after me **Water after 4pm ... Water after 4pm... **

After landing in Kuala Lumpur at 6am, I am travelling solo for a couple of days to explore KL. I am always passing
My gorgeous cousin, Kylee...My gorgeous cousin, Kylee...My gorgeous cousin, Kylee...

We used to spend our school holidays together as kiddies.. this is our first grown up holiday together!
through here on each trip but have only ever done a brief overnight.. so this time I have booked two nights in a gorgeous little guesthouse called Sahabat Guesthouse and armed with my Stars Guide to Malaysian Street Food, I intend to seek out all the food I can eat in a 48 hour period! Having been in contact with a wonderful food blogger Robyn at Eating Asia I was hopeful of doing one of her food tours of Kuala Lumpur. Unfortunately she is blogging about food in Chiang Mai when I am in town so I will have to catch her on the next trip.. she was kind enough however to recommend a few must try places and even kinder to send me a google map with these places highlighted along with my guesthouse... For all you foodies out there, check out her blogs... living the life I wish I could!

From KL I fly into Krabi, Thailand to meet up with my bestie McKay who has managed to swing 6 days away from work in Japan to meet up with me.. We are heading straight to Koh Lanta for 4 nights in a quaint little bungalow on the beach
One of my besties Case & her hubby RobOne of my besties Case & her hubby RobOne of my besties Case & her hubby Rob

Cant wait to see them... I think the last time I saw Case was way back in 1998!
Banana Garden Home Bungalows before we fly to Bangkok to meet up with Tong and explore a little of the city together... Having always stayed at the same guesthouse in Bangkok I have decided to try something different.. You can't beat the Khao San Road area for atmosphere so we are staying in the same area but just a new guesthouse Lamphu House . McKay leaves me alone in Bangkok for a final night... I was unsure what to do with my last 24 hours in Bangkok but have plans to go eat Duck Noodle Soup at a little stall near my hotel we found last trip and then later that night I am catching up with a travel blog buddy Deirdre from Canada and her partner.. They fly in to Bangkok on their first SE Asia trip that night so we are going to catch up and do some classic Reety style Suan Lum Night Bazaar and pop all of our Patpong cherries! (Yes you read it right, I have NEVER visited Patpong in any of my Bangkok trips!)

From Bangkok I fly directly into Denpasar airport, Bali... where I will hang around the airport for a bit waiting for my cousin Kylee to
Bianca and HelenBianca and HelenBianca and Helen

I can't believe Bianca's first trip overseas is with me.. What has she got herself into!? Bahaha
turn up on her flight from Perth... My gorgeous friend Nat should have already arrived from Darwin and be waiting for us at the resort in Ubud... Once I have Kylee safe in my custody, we will head our first hotel in Bali Tegal Sari ... My friend Helen from Melbourne with her friend, Bianca should not be too far behind us... and hopefully if all goes according to plan, my amazing friend Casey and her new hubby Rob should also be in Ubud waiting!

A couple of nights in Ubud with the gang should suffice, before we say a sad goodbye to Casey and Rob and head to Legian where we are staying at Puri Raja Resort ... for 6 fun filled nights of partying, exploring the beaches of Kuta/Legian/Seminyak and a couple of amazing tours of the Mt Batur area thrown in for good measure... I have a full on day planned for my 37th Birthday but you will have to wait and see what that is!!!

Sadly Nat leaves us after the first two nights in Legian and then it is just the four of us... Helen, Bianca, Kylee and I! Bring it all on! See you in the
My beautiful friend, NatMy beautiful friend, NatMy beautiful friend, Nat

Popping over to Bali for a long weekend from Darwin! Tough life! :-)
first blog.. coming soon to a computer screen near you!

Love Reet xxx

Advertisement



7th February 2011

wow, action packed plans!
Hi Reet...sorry it's taken a while to get back to you. Our laptop hard driver burnt out the weekend before last and we've been frantically recovering everything since! This is the first chance we've had to send you a message! Unfortunately we aren't in any of the places you are planning to visit, we are just beginning to prepare for the parents to come and visit. Hopefully on one of your future trips we'll get to meet up, that would be good. Looking forward to reading your blogs. Stay safe and have loads of fun (you always do) and look out for those dodgy toilets. Donna and Neil x
7th February 2011

yeah...on the road again!!
Wonderful blog as always...looking forward to the rest of your adventures! Safe fun happy trip!! See ya in Adelaide on your return!!
7th February 2011

adventure
Hey Reet, Sounds like another fun filled adventure is about to begin and we look forward to hearing all about it. We heard on Trip Advisor that Suan Lum Sight Bazaar is closed now ? Maybe Tong can tell you for sure though. Have a great trip!! Paul & Colli xxx p.s. If you still need ideas for your next trip we will be back in Thailand at the end of september ;)
7th February 2011

Lucky You
Hey Reety, I'm excited now..love ur blogs & hope to travel like u one day. See u in St Kilda on the 13th (my mummies 80th birthday) & hoping for great weather. xox Lynn
8th February 2011

Footloose and fancy free...oh yeah!
Am so glad you're embarking on another trip reety, your updates are like finding a fabulous novel that you cant put down, they will make my sneaky internet surfing at work that more enjoyable!! St Kilda Fest? Soon? Maybe i should fang into melbs and have a quick H2O with you that weekend?! Lots of luv xoxo
12th February 2011

Have a safe and fun birthday trip
Hi Reety All the best for your next adventure. Wish I could have joined you in Bali. Looking forward to reading all the updates. Lee xx

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb