Cape York - Seisia - RAIN RAIN and more RAIN


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 1st 2015
Published: June 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, well today it rained and when I say rain I mean real heavy rain. one of the cape york tour guides reckons in 25 years he has never seen rain at this time of the year. Anyhow we ended up playing cards under our Hut. We have a hut at the Seisa park. It is basically a veranda with a sink and lights. Very cosy when it rains. Anyhow the rain stopped, sort of at around 3pm. We took the opportunity to go to the local pier and found the Toll ship berthing on the sand and lowering its boom door to allow the forklifts to get onto the ships, a little bit if sand driving and getting stuck and very little health and safety and all of the weeks supplies were offloaded. Very interesting to see how such a remote community gets its supplies. Anyhow we left the pier and went back to our camp . We found that my son Paul and grandson Cohen had caught a couple of barracuda's. I decided it was time for me to show Cohen how to really catch a fish. I went fishing in the tinny with Xavier and Tracey. Did not catch anything but as we were approaching the camp and berthing on the sand I tried to get out of the boat, with about twenty people watching on the shore. Anyhow I slipped and fell over into the water and totally fell on my back. No broken bones and nothing hurt but my ego. I was so embarrassed and even got claps from the people on the beach. I was drenched from Head to toe. Let me just say it was a talking point for the rest of the evening. Tomorrow will be a better day. it better stop raining.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd June 2015

Haha, good to hear that it was only the ego that got hurt :) Hope the sun comes out for you tomorrow!

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb