Left my heart in Myella


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 19th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Daisy the calfDaisy the calfDaisy the calf

Check out those clothes!
Sat. 3rd Nov:
Woke early and took advantage of ridiculous heat at that time of the morning, did my washing and hung it out to dry, all done by 10am! Off we trekked to Myella Farmstay, a long 6hr drive in +30 heat, nice! We stopped for a picnic lunch and some shade before finally arriving at 1700. Having sat in the car for so long, my knee had stiffen up nicely so limped upto reception to book in. Then lead to a 15min conversation with Lynn, one of the owners, who had also had an ACL recon. I always knew this was a common injury but have yet to meet someone else who did it sumo wrestling, probably shouldn't brag about it...... Anyway, it appears Oz surgeons are much more cautious on the rehab side of things, more gentle rehab in 1st 6 months, wouldn't like to say which I agree with........
We got shown to our room, a double, LOL! After setting yet another person straight, that no, we're not married or together, ROFL (rolling on floor laughing, for those non leeters), we redirected to our much more appealing twin room and languished in the a/c for a good half hour. having cooled down we then wandered down to the laundry room to select our wardrobe for the next few days. Whilst doing any activities on the farm, you are required to wear trousers, long sleeved tops and boots. I was slightly distraught as the best label I could find was M&S (which strangely excited Laz....) but managed to find some thin, light combats and a lovely denim shirt ( you'll be lucky to see photos of me in any of this attire, thankfully!!!) Once kitted out we went for a look around.
Having reached the dining/social area I saw the cutest things, an 8 month old wallaby, Eliza and a 6 month old kangaroo, QT. They had both been orphaned recently and the farm has a license to nurse and look after them, how awesome! So cool to be so near to them and actually hold them.
Dinner was served at 1900 and being on beef farm it was no surprise what we had. Gorgeous homemade meat balls and sausages in gravy with veg and potato bake, no complaints there! Sponge, peaches and custard for dessert, wasn't going to go hungry over the next few days! Laz on the other hand was fasting. we had horse riding in the morning with a 100kg limit so he had a couple to lose before the morning. After dinner, 2 of the farm guests got to bottle feed the babies.
After such a long day, it was nice to get to bed.

Sun. 4th Nov:
In true farm form, woke at 0530 but had good lie in until 0600! Breakfast was from 0700 so was up and dressed by then. Another great spread, cereals, bread, toasties (no marmite) and loads of juice. After food, was time to see how to milk a cow (I can hear the relatives commenting on this already!) before having a go then collecting the eggs and bottle feeding the calf, Daisy. There was group of us there so I went off to collect the eggs, I never realised how stupid chickens are, talk about bird brains!! Also first feed for the baby hoppers, did I mention how cute they were?!
Next, horse riding. As a noob, we had to have a lesson on the model horse, how to mount and dismount, hold the reigns etc. After Trevor had shown us the ropes we grabbed some water and our riding hats and went in search of our horses, mine was called Bear. Once I'd untied him I took his reigns to lead him into the training area but he wasn't keen on moving, at all! Being unsure of how to encourage a horse to move and realising that swearing and threats don't work either, I remained where I was until Trevor came to assist. He actually had trouble getting him to move too so didn't feel quite so stupid! Once on board (sorry, mounted) we did a few laps around to check the indicators and brakes worked before heading out. We were out for a good 2 hours, out around the farm, but was glad to get by lunchtime, even with the amount of padding I have on my butt, it still hurt!
Headed back to the room for a quick a/c blast, change into boardies and vest, long sleeves in this weather just aren't fun! Then lunch and caught up with some of the others who had gone out on a more advanced ride. Laz did his bike test that morning having not quite reached the weigh in for the horses. He'd spent the morning riding around the farm with another English guy, Andrew. Was really nice to see him so enthusiastic about something other that a computer screen!
Another feed for the babies then time for my bike lesson. Only 3 of us doing it, myself, Enya and Martha, 2 girls from Norway. Enya was a really good horse rider but absolutely petrified of riding a motorbike.... Martha and I, definitely the other way! Lynn had to kick start mine for me as it was on the right and my knee wasn't really up to it. Struggled on the initial take off but once I got going, it was great fun. We were supposed to 20 laps around the training track before following Lynn out onto the farm road but after 10 Lynn was happy for me to head out. So we progressed onto the road and when Lynn was happy with our gear changes etc we're allowed to do the 7km track around the farm. Enya had had enough so it was just the 3 of us. Once the track was completed we're then allowed to head out by ourselves, as long as we stay on the farm, so cool. Lynn had already
ElizaElizaEliza

The wallaby
started calling me speedy and her money on me to be the first to crash, I don't know what she was implying! I then went out with Laz and Andrew for another lap before retiring, my legs had just about had by then. Took some quiet time to have a cuddle with QT and Eliza. Around 1730 some headed out to watch the sunset but left me, Andrew and Natalie behind. Not to be outdone and happy to have a 4WD, we chased after them in Sheila. Was another outstanding view, especially as there was a family of roos in the distant.
Headed back for dinner, Laz making up for his fasting the day before. After dinner I actually had my 1st chance to feed QT. She needs alot of coaxing to actually get the bottle into her mouth so it took 2 of us, one to open her mouth and the other to get the bottle in. Once there she wasn't too bad but its best to keep her eyes covered as well, as she's used to feeding in a pouch. All in all, it looks like you're trying to smother her but she doesn't get hurt so its ok.
Laz, being more advanced on the bike, got roped into bringing in the horses the following morning. It was going to be at 0700 but as the weather the following day was supposed to be really hot they decided on an early morning ride, needing to horses by 0630, oh how I laughed!!!! Taking his responsibility seriously, he was in bed by 2100.

Mon. 5th Nov:
I heard Laz leave at 0530 so decided to get up. Went down to dining area to read but I didn't get a chance. Most people were heading out on the early horse ride, which I'd decided against, so I was asked to prepare the bottles for the baby hoppers and give them their breakfast. I didn't need to be asked twice. There was also some new arrivals,a family from the Gold Coast so I passed QT onto the daughter and fed Eliza myself, she certainly needs no encouragement to drink her bottle, drained in about 5 seconds! I put the babies into their pen to play whilst I went off to milk the cows and collect the eggs.
Once the boys get back, I went out on the bikes until lunchtime.
Chillin' with my babyChillin' with my babyChillin' with my baby

Gotta take the hugs when they're offered!
After lunch, they went out on the bikes again but I decided to give my knee a rest. I grabbed my book and chilled in my hammock for a while, but then took advantage of the quiet time to play with QT. Eliza had been at the farm for a while so she was allowed out on the grass to hop around, as they knew she wouldn't go far but QT had to be held, not exactly a hardship! We had a quiet afternoon swinging on the hammock together, I want one! Jane, from Canada, was also rather fond of the baby hoppers so she joined me. You may wonder why QT was my favourite over Eliza, well they were equally cute until Eliza whilst half sitting on my foot and half on the grass, peed on my foot!!
Lynn had said it was ok to let QT out on the grass as long as I didn't let her escape?!*# How do you stop a roo??? Anyway, we got everyone together and sat in a circle. I got QT in her pouch a put it on the grass but she was too scared to get out so I had to encourage her (tipped her out). She then tried to climb on me, not being used to the open space. Eventually I got up and moved away from her and she finally took her 1st hop. I carried on walking and she carried on hopping after me although her brakes weren't so good, so when I stopped she just bumped into me. It was so adorable and just such an amazing experience to be a part of.
After lunch there was a lasso and whip lesson. I was feeling really lethargic so didn't really try it but we decided to stay an extra day so knew I could have a go tomorrow. It had also started raining so happy yo sit around.
We had a bbq for dinner, I've never seen so much steak, except when its still walking! Whilst waiting for dinner there was a power cut so the lamps were needed to put on the tables. This then bought in swarms of moths, they were everywhere. Fortunately, the lights came back on so we managed to eat our meal without a side order of moth!
Last feed to QT and Eliza, though QT just didn't want to sleep so I stayed up with her until 2200. With it still being wet we couldn't let them get cold so they stayed in their pouches. I am definitely a surrogate roo mum, could this become a full time job.......

Tues. 6th Nov:
My last day here so I made it a relaxing one. The weather was still damp so sat around chatting to Jane and playing with the hoppers. Laz had got really good with the whip so got him to show me again. Its really hard work on the shoulder and less than fun when you don't get it right, I had the marks to prove it! Also tried the lasso which I was more successful with. After lunch it was the Melbourne Cup. Being a horsey farm the staff were all really interested in it so decided to run a sweep stake. We all bought a name for $1, Laz and I had 2 as there were some left over, then sat to watch the race, all 150 seconds of it! Laz's horses were 1st and 2nd until the last 10 secs when mine took over the lead but got picked at the post, but I had a respectable 2nd, Laz got the wooden spoon.
We went and got some pics on the bike, sorted out our bill and packed up the car. Said my heart wrenching goodbye to QT then to everyone else before driving off to Rockhampton. Trevors parting words to me, other than to look after my knee and don't do too much on it, was how much I reminded him of the actress Ali McGraw in her older years. I'd never heard of her so gonna have to google that one later.
90min drive to Rocky and checked in at the YHA. I took an instant dislike to the area so glad we were only there 1 night. Jane was also checking in there later so we waited for her to arrive then went out for some dinner and the best ice cream. I promised to drop Jane at the station for midnight so we stayed up talking until then.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Poor HarryPoor Harry
Poor Harry

He has a disease that won't allow his feathers to grow back


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb