Skipped a couple of weeks...now I'm in the Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays » Daydream Island
March 27th 2013
Published: March 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

MASSIVE APOLOGIES TO ALL WHO ACTUALLY EXPECTED ME TO KEEP UP WITH THIS BLOG.
I hope some of you made a bet against me, and have since cleaned up. You're welcome.

To those of you who are disappointed in me, technically it's not really my fault. It's due to the lack of free wi-fi, which is extremely frustrating in a supposedly forward and western country like Australia! Average costs are around $6 for 15 minutes, and my love of food trumps this blog every time.
On the bright side, I have fortunately been strong willed enough to write down my activities and thoughts in a diary, so at some point I can go back and write them up :D In the mean time I figure it's a bit confusing if I am still blogging about Vietnam, despite having Facebook updates about Australia - so we are skipping most of the past for the present. If you disagree with this move, get out.

So to start with, some minor background knowledge: I am on a Contiki tour (which is massive, around 50 of us... Bit of a girl fest, but lots of fun!) and have been through


• Sydney
• Coffs Harbour
• Byron Bay
• Brisbane
• Surfers Paradise
• Noosa
• Fraser Island
• A farmstay


and am currently at the idyllic Whitsundays. Next and last stop - Cairns. Sweet as bro! (I am bona fide aussie right now.)

Because the tour crams in so much into a short timeframe, there is a lot of driving involved - I really underestimated how large Australia was, until we got into Queensland and the timezone changed. Shock horror for me, as I have no idea how to change the time on my watch. The travelling does allow you however, to take in all the gorgeous scenery (and take stupid photo's of people sleeping. muahaha.)

My last stop was at the farmstay - which was a pretty fun time. The farm itself is around 420 000 acres (friggin 'ell) and upon arrival on the evening of the 25th, we were greeted by a huge amount of food prepared by the owners. Winning! After dinner we had the opportunity to learn how to crack whips; with a strong arm and flick of the wrist, the leather moves at such speed that the end breaks the speed of sound upon hitting the ground, creating the 'crack'.
Naturally, when I had the whip in my hand, my first port of call was to channel Chandler Bing and do the whole 'WOOPAH' whenever I made an attempt. When I got a bit more serious about the whole shabang (I mean, I did have safety goggles on and everything), I embraced my inner hero aka Indiana Jones - although perhaps Indian Jones is more appropriate - and did manage to make a few cracks! I have never felt more powerful in my life.

As if that wasn't enough, they then whipped out (tehe pun whip - hurray - I know you've all missed this) the KAREOKE machine. It was met with cheers as frankly an evening of kareoke is always a good laugh. Me and one of the other girls belted out the classic Summer Nights, amongst other hits like Livin' On a Prayer and Sweet Carolinel. Entertainment value = Successful. Genuine ability to sing = Failures. --> Turns out we'd be perfect for Britain's Got Talent 2014 then.

On to a sympathy story - I've had some bad allergic reactions to bites over the last couple of days, because the farmstay was teeming with creepy crawlies. SO I am high on a potential overdose of anti histamines (and life because yay life), and have lathered my legs up in sudocreme. Needless to say, I have never been more white in my lifetime. Heh heh, coconut. Excluding the really long coach journey, since arriving at the WhItsundays last night circa 6 pm, I have spent 18 hours doing nothing but sleeping and eating breakfast. So this is actually a bit of a pants time to blog, but hey ho.

Present life: As we're now in the tropics, the weather is much hotter and more humid. My resort on Daydream Island has a few reefs and lagoons within the complex, filled with colourful fish, giant stingrays (which I will get to feed later on!) and sharks. Coupled with swaying palm trees against the backdrop of a cloudless blue sky, I have no doubt that this is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. I'm actually going to go and explore the beach now, so I'll get back on here later when I have more to talk about. 😊

Lots of love and apologies,
Prem

P.S. #itchinhell #regularupdatesLOLNO #whipitrealgood

Advertisement



28th March 2013

You don\'t know me but having read all your blogs, i feel like i know you. You are my one and only true love. Always CW x

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb