Overcoming Self


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
September 23rd 2010
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Atop a CliffAtop a CliffAtop a Cliff

This is an older photo from Acadia national park.

Challenges of Delight



Those of you who know me, know that I like challenges. That the phrase "You can't do that" is more of an invitation than a deterrent to me.

When I was younger, it was easy to challenge myself, because it was usually fueled by anger at some idiotic boy telling me "You can't ______ cause you're a girl." But now that I'm older, and my peers no longer spout such nonsense, the challenges lie in the new and unknowns. And it's amazing how frightening and difficult it can be to challenge yourself. Because who knows what frightens you more than yourself - who's able to say just the right things to dissuade you?

When I chat about my experiences, I'm amazed at the number of people who say "you're fearless!" or "I could never do that!". The reality is that I'm frightened quite often. I've just never let that stop me. And why should I? As long as I take proper precautions, telling people where I'm going, wearing a helmet/lights, having proper training etc, I figure the world's mine for exploring. Whether that's on top of a mountain or 25 meters below the sea
First night diveFirst night diveFirst night dive

Here I am before my first night dive, the photo was taken at sunset. My buddy (the photographer) was incredibly nervous. Luckily the shark didn't bother us until the second dive...
- if I want to be there I'll get there.

While in Australia, and especially in the last month. I've been able to challenge myself and grow more than I can ever remember. Whether it's fighting a fluttering heart to start a conversation with a stranger, or replacing my first bike tube, each challenge leaves me feeling satisfied, more confident, and even more independent.

From rescuing a sick dive buddy, to navigating solo on a new reef, I'm always learning. Hopefully that will always be the case - because there's more in this world than I can ever experience!


Advertisement



23rd September 2010

sharks...ooh fun
Just finished reading this last post and it made me smile in that "I'm having a parental moment" kind of way. It's not often that friends can be genuinely proud of one another but there is no better way to describe the feeling that brought a smile to my lips. I'm happy that you're happy and look forward to hearing about your challenges and adventures. It's an addiction and awesome kind of anticipation. Don't know if I've said this yet but thank you for being an awesome person and sharing soo much of yourself without asking for anything in return. I know it's a feeling and kind of thing that will only grow and get better with time. As for the other bit, I read the comment below your dive picture and I would bet hundreds of dollars that you were bummed that you didn't see the shark on the first dive and out-of-your-mind-happy when you saw it on round 2. Your partner on the other had has ALL OF HIS NORMAL DEFENSE MECHANISMS in place and was scared enough to pee his very expensive, rubber britches. haha
26th September 2010

Actually, I saw it both times
I actually saw it on dive one and dive two. It just only swam up to us on dive 2. You should read the note about it on facebook. Good dives this weekend, will update. Love you!
29th September 2010

your so in you elament
hello honey just wanted to say wow again and to say your a natural looking ocean woman and diver.... love the blog thanks for sending me the links its ez for me that way lol..... much love mom

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb