The day after


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
June 28th 2010
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

View from the balconyView from the balconyView from the balcony

Antony's apartment in Townsville
The day after, I’m sitting here having read every awful review of the game, as if watching the game hadn’t been torture enough.

The day after my luggage had been delivered, the previously soiled clothing pristine and washed, my brand new England shirt lying in a crumpled heap in the corner: I had decided against taking a dump into it, despite the absolute accuracy of the metaphor intended.

The day after a lovely drive south along the coast road to the town of Bowen 200 kilometers south, my brother and I excitedly discussing the upcoming game as we strolled along the beach, while hermit crabs were burrowing meandering pathways through the sand, the water and the sand shining.

The day after reveling in the alien Australian landscapes, the sugar cane plantations, the crystal blue skies, the ancient hills, the primeval-seeming vegetation, and my first live kangaroo hunched by the side of the road. Three other kangaroos splattered across the center of the road made a far less lovely impression. The Australian towns are not at all like I expected. I’m not at all clear on what it is that I’m finding surprising, but surprising is how I’m finding
Bowen BeachBowen BeachBowen Beach

Shining sea and sand
things: the buildings, the signs - there’s something very 1950’s about everything, somehow. I mean, crikey, Woolworths still exists here! I’m sure as the days unfold my perspicacity will improve. Trust me, I’ll dig it up!

The day after waiting until midnight for the kick off to the most eagerly anticipated game of the year, knowing after five minutes that disaster was looming, saying so, then watching it all unfold in gruesome Technicolor.

The day after discussing the unsteady future with my brother, still jet-lagged.

The day after I started putting together a plan for this trip. Antony is fiendishly busy with his job. I’m going to spend the rest of the World Cup here with him, despite the heart of the competition being ripped out, especially for him. I need to look around Townsville today, and then start planning activities. I can go out to Crystal Creek one day with Antony, across to Magnetic Island for a day or two, rent a bike for a couple of days, then eventually get a plane to Darwin, do some stuff around there, then take the Ghan train to Adelaide via Alice Springs. Bit worried about the money side: as long as I’m staying here it’s OK, but once I break out on my own - good lord, it’s going to get prohibitive fast! Still, one day at a time: I have my luggage, my medicine, a lovely fifth floor apartment right in the center of the city, my brother’s generosity.
What else can a guy on vacation ask for?



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



28th June 2010

no Kangaroo photo?
Live ones, please. Kangaroos "splattered" across the center of the road? Really? Aren't they big? Was there blood? Is that too gruesome to ask? I don't want to think about dead Kangaroos. :( Glad you got your bag back. Woolworth's? I loved that store. And a 50's vibe to Australia? If it means a simpler style of living, it has my vote.
28th June 2010

you really should write a book. You are a very entertaining blogger. Have fun
28th June 2010

sorry but not too...
Sorry about dashed hopes for the Cup but good to know you've got your stuff. Woolworth's! Apparently, not only animal species are unique to the island...guess it's a reminder of the continent's remoteness. Hot weather got us to the beach twice this weekend, including a rare hooky-playing afternoon on Don's part Friday. Until next time...
28th June 2010

Did you not read Bryson?
The 1950s thing - Bill Bryson picked that off - not decor, but the entire place. (In a Sunburnt Country was the book title, I believe). I showed it to my Aussie friend, a Melbourne boy but with relatives who own sheep stations and he just laughed.
28th June 2010

The day after...
Well the day after must be over by now......hope you are doing better. Glad to hear that you ahve your luggage and meds now. I guess you have the camera now too. Great photos.....Sounds like your are relaxing and enjoying being with your brother before moving on. enjoy the time with your brother and look forward to your travels. have fun Lucille
1st July 2010

Thanks Lucille. Hope your summer is going well too!
1st July 2010

I have read Bryson but not on the subject of Oz. Should be good to read when I get back!
1st July 2010

Sounds like fun, your end. Enjoy the beach. Play hooky more often! Let's not talk about the football!
1st July 2010

Cheers!
1st July 2010

Still only the one Kangaroo - but we're heading out of town tomorrow!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb