One month in Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
October 9th 2015
Published: October 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It's crazy that tomorrow it'll be a month since I left Calgary. Time flies! It feels like just yesterday I got here.

I've spent the last 3 days in Surfers Paradise. Another beach town, but it's a really big party town and reminds me of Miami in a way. There are big skyscrapers, fancy clubs and theme parks. It's a lot flashier than Noosa or Mission Beach.

Took surfing lessons yesterday. The very first time I tried to stand up probably ended up being my best ride of the day. Conditions weren't great - the waves were really big and not ideal for beginner surfing. There's a poker tournament at my hostel tonight. $5 buy in includes a free beer. Winner gets a $50 bar tab.

Other than that, I haven't been doing much lately. It rained all day yesterday and most of today and when you're in a beach town there isn't much to do when it's raining. Tomorrow I'm going to Byron Bay, which is another surf town, but more laid back, relaxed and hippy than Surfers is.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb