GPS detour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
May 4th 2011
Published: May 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Tamborine MountainsThe Tamborine MountainsThe Tamborine Mountains

Cedar Creek Falls
I left Byron Bay today and decided to take an adventure to Mt Tamborine however my new GPS decided not to work again. It did this to me on my first day to the Grampians so I had to detour on my 3rd day to Bendigo to rectify the situation. Instead of making it to my planned destination today, I arrived here in Burleigh Heads to again fix the GPS. My drive took me through the townships of Tweed Heads, Coolangatta, Palm Beach and finally Burleigh. This relatively short drive from Byron, taking 2.5hrs, including time spent lost and searching for a shopping centre, was nice enough, however much of the north coast of NSW and south coast of QLD are rife with towns, barely further than 15km apart, so it felt alot like driving through any outer city suburb (give or take the highway). Burleigh has a beautiful surf beach that has quite a nice view across the water to Gold Coast. I sat in the carpark across from this caravan park peacefully taking in this stretch of ocean and contemplated camping the night illegally but after some advice from some travelling surfers, they suggested I would likely end up
The Tamborine MountainsThe Tamborine MountainsThe Tamborine Mountains

At the Caravan Park
with a fine. So here I sit tonight, cosied up in bed about to watch a movie before what I hope is a big sleep, after an eventful few nights in Byron....but more about that later

Advertisement



6th May 2011

you should have packed a surf board? from memory good waves at burleigh. lol at u surfing! miss u xx
10th May 2011

Travelling into Queensland
Lisa, It is nice to hear you are travelling well apart from a dodgy GPS. Usually they are very reliable - it may be that the 12V power supply may be droppping out of the connection to the GPS or something similar. I think the QLD authorities are pretty hot on parking or camping inthe wrong spots but it is very tempting given the magnificent views of the coast and inland. I will look up how to do the photo's so you can space your travel blog with a few well chosen pictures. I hope you have bought a small $10 tripod from a Cheap as Chips type store and then you can use the delay picutre system in the camera to take some pictures which include you nin the photograph. Cheers and enjoy your touring. Nick

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb