Mt. Superbus / Mt. Steamer: my last bushwalk


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Stanthorpe
June 30th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

mt_superbus

hmmm.... pretty decisive mountain, but not to find on google maps.... should be here in this region

After having finished all my assignments and exams for this semester with an HD, it was definitely time for some reward! Although this would be my last bush walk for the time being, I looked forward to it very positive and eager. It was supposed to a 2-day walk around a huge area. The outward journey was very adventurous: we passed and crossed many riverbeds and many farm gates with our huge 4WD. I just thought: if anything of our cars would breaks here, we would be lost in no-man's land. great! ;-) ... but our drivers were experienced, and we had a really enjoyable and adventurous drive to our camping ground, where we first had to scare away the cows grazing there. After some cosy chat and dinner at the open fireplace, the very cold night in our tents passed very quickly for me. I was freezing, and put on all the things I brought with me in my sleeping bag. We got up at 5 o'clock in the morning, and after a quick breaki our group split in 2 groups with different destinations and lengths of trips, and we all started the trips in a beautiful morning amid the rainforest, along a river. Our first stop was Mt. Steamer, where we had a fabulous view and we ate our first snacks. Then we went on to Lizard Point, where one nearly could see the coast behind the Hinterland , if there would not have been misty air conditions today. It was already afternoon and the trip went on to a place where we would find a plane wreck. Pretty frightening to see a crashed plane amid the rain forest. My feet started hurting a little, although I was wearing good and sturdy footwear this time. But there was still some way to walk, and it was mostly downhill in a former waterfall. cooool. Dark night came very quickly, and I got a little bit scared, when we were still around 2 km away from our camp ground, and we have lost the right track, because of fallen trees, non-working GPS and other obstacles. But together and with the experience of our guides, we finally arrived at the camp ground at around 8pm. I was just exhausted, whereas the other bush walkers, mostly older than me, seemed pretty quirky to me. It was roughly 20km in the rainforest today ... this is definitely the maximum I am capable of! When driving back I just tried recover from the strains today, and very joyfully and curious listened to some incredible happenings and stories of the bush walker eldest. When arrived in Toowoomba, I said farewell to this great bushwalkers, and donated them some of my camping equipment I could not /wanted not carry with me. I hope we meet again some time, either in Australia, or here in Europe!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb