Road to Townsville via Rockhampton


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rockhampton
September 19th 2018
Published: September 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Downtown side of the riverDowntown side of the riverDowntown side of the river

Caught a shot with out runners and bikers - lots of activity normally
Brisbane - Rockhampton- Townsville




Walked down by the river front and down to the Queens Mall area and did some shopping on my day off the bike. Brisbane is a beautiful city but I'm ready for the hinterlands. I'm going to get everything packed up tonight so I can get an early start and try to beat some of the traffic in the morning. Logically, I'll be going against the grain but I would have thought the same about coming into town yesterday afternoon... Not.

I've been told once you get north of Brisbane you leave behind the last of the southern urban areas and start to see more wildlife. I've got 847 miles to cover over the next two days. Tomorrow I'll do half the distance and make it to Rockhampton then on to Townsville. This will be my most northern point on the bike, then I head West to some middle of nowhere towns Hughenden - Mt. Isa and eventually Tennant Creek before heading South to Alice Springs & Uluru (Ayers Rock). I will be doing an average of 356 miles a day over the next 6 days before I get a day off in Alice Springs. The weather looks great (knock wood) albeit considerably hotter than it has been in the South. I chose early spring because it is dryer (technically spring doesn't arrive for another 4 days). The trade off is that scenery is going to look very desert like in the outback.

Hopefully, I've got my Garmin figured out so I can get shots off my helmet camera in route. I've gotten some advice about Emu's and Roo's if I see them close to the road-basically slow down and don't trust them. I've heard more than one person say the Roo's are dumber than a box of rocks. So I'll be sure to give them a lot of space.



Check back in with you tomorrow night from Rockhampton.



Jim


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Queen street Mall BrisbaneQueen street Mall Brisbane
Queen street Mall Brisbane

Cool Mall area with lots of shopping, restaurants and Bars.
River BrisbaneRiver Brisbane
River Brisbane

Downtown side of the River
New Leather brim New Leather brim
New Leather brim

New Leather brim with real crocodile brace and teeth _ maybe I'll give my old one to Jennifer's boy friend :)


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb