Flipper


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
March 30th 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Never share a dorm room with 7 girls. Especially when that dorm room has only 1 shower, in the same room as the 1 toilet. A room shared with the fairer sex may smell nicer than a room shared with other blokes - but this comes at a price. I awoke at around 07:15, but it was gone 09:15 before I was able to get into the shower and get out for breakfast. ON the plus side though this did give me the opportunity to have a good lie in!

Today was the day for Sea Kayaking, which promised to offer a chance to catch some rays, work out my upper body and hopefully see some dolphins. I was one half of team 'Alex', the other half being made up of Alex, a German Schoolteacher. I let slip early in the conversation that I spoke a little German, but that I hoped to improve it along with all my other (lack of) languages. "In that case, I will speak nothing but German to you" she said, and my heart dropped. Nanny Liesel has tried this for years, but she loves me so when she sees me struggling we go back to English. Alex clearly doesnt love me, and seems to be having a lot of fun watching me exercise my poorly toned linguistic muscles. Shiese.

The kayaking was straightforward thanks to a two person effort and the calm waters and I was delighted to see a number of dolphins popping up not far from the Kayak. Being on the edge of the group I think we saw more than most. Just as I was getting used to seeing dolphins i saw the beady eyes and head of a young but sizeable turtle bobbing along taking breaths about 3 metres from the kayak. Next on the marine safari wsa a Yugong (Manitee, sea-cow) which came to the surface for air before propelling itself downwards with its mermaid style tail. However it was soon time for team Alex to disband.

In the evening I went up to the Carlo Sandblow - a 120m high sanddune standing over Rainbow beach. It gave a stunning panoramic sunset in one direction, and wide reaching views out to sea in the other. A great end to a great few days.



Advertisement



9th April 2006

Stunning sunset Alex. Who did you lend your camera to?

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb