Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
June 22nd 2015
Published: July 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Beach at Port DouglasBeach at Port DouglasBeach at Port Douglas

four-mile beach... Perfect for running, except for the wind
It was pretty difficult to get to Port Douglas from Cairns. Even though it's just an hour up the coast, most transports were a ridiculous 68 AUD round trip. Instead, I found a hostel who would get me there for free and then I paid $18 to get back after a few days.

I had hoped to get all the way to Cape Tribulation, but it was too expensive. I could have found a tour that took me to a few places (Mossman Gorge) and then to the Cape, but I found that all out too late and it was pretty complicated.

I expected all of this on some level. Australia is for campervans, working holidays, and posh condos. I felt left out without cheap ways to get around, much like many must feel when visiting the U.S.

Luckily Port Douglas was worth spending a few days. Though it's a somewhat posh holiday spot for wealthier Australians and celebrities, there are also plenty of backpackers and people traveling in camper vans and such to give it some diversity.

Snorkelling on the Outer Reef

The main reason I went up the coast was to get on a
The outer reefThe outer reefThe outer reef

I wimped out and didn't use my waterproof phone case to take underwater photos.
better snorkelling day trip. I went to the Agincourt Reef with Silver Sonic (http://www.quicksilver-cruises.com/wavepiercer.htm) and it was definitely the best organized trip I've been on, as it should be at 230 Australian dollars. Everything was incredibly efficient (giving briefings to snorkelers and divers, serving lunch, etc.) and the guides were pretty impressive. The water was really rough so a fair number of people got sick, and some couldn't even go into the water because they were so sick. They gave us sea sickness tablets for free, but I definitely had to sit down a few times to get straight again.

The coral was amazing and that's what I was there to see. It actually make more sense to snorkel rather than to scuba dive because most of the best coral is close to the surface. I also saw a reef shark, plenty of giant turtles, grouper, and plenty of other fish. I've seen better fish before, but the coral was amazing.

Four Mile Beach

This beach was pretty empty because of the season and the winds. It is very flat and broad, making it perfect for running.

Mossman Gorge in Daintree National Park

I found
Four Mile BeachFour Mile BeachFour Mile Beach

Only a day's work prevented Captain Cook's preferred name: Swathe of Sand of Undetermined Length.
transport to take me to the rainforest. It was a rainy day so I got a private drive. Once to the visitor's center, I walked another mile or so to avoid paying for the shuttle there. Once inside, I walked a bit on the fabricated paths before finding a 3km loop around the area. It was very nice and they had a fair number of descriptions of trees, etc. I'd definitely recommend it for a day trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Aboriginal communityAboriginal community
Aboriginal community

This was on the walk between the park office and Mossman Gorge.
TrailTrail
Trail

3km loop trail around Mossman Gorge


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb