Where is the love?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
August 19th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mission BeachMission BeachMission Beach

Remains of palm trees and plant life after cyclone Yasi
How things change as time rolls on...my adventures are starting to look and feel a little different now. After the non-adventure of Lucinda I rolled into Mission Beach and was pleasantly surprised to find a town that had what I was looking for. Sunshine, warmth, cafes and a vibe that suggested happy times are coming. To add to this, was a very long flat stretch of sand for me to begin my new exercise regime after packing on the pounds that follows many travellers as they eat their way through each destination. The sad thing about Mission is that it has been ravaged by the cyclone in February and what is left is a town struggling with tourism, not to mention ecological damages that is said will take 15 years to rectify. Worse is Dunk and Bederra Island's that are unlikely to ever reopen, both so badly trampled in natures ambush.
I confess I was a little lost for a week or two that started in Townsville, but to my credit, bringing my focus back to where I wanted to go and what I wanted to achieve on this trip fell further into place in Mission Beach. A calm wave washed
Mission BeachMission BeachMission Beach

View of Dunk Island off Mission Beach
over me one day as I was relaxing and reading by the pool and thank god for that, as I was starting to feel like a crazy person wandering aimlessly with expectations that barely made sense let alone had a chance of reaching fruition. Need-less to say Mission Beach was lovely, I met some friendly people, acquired some work and a great tan too!
From Mission I headed up to Port Douglas to leave my bus with some friends as I ventured south at Steve’s request to spend some time together after his adventures at sea in Indonesia. Byron and Brisbane demonstrated beyond perfect winter weather, although I did catch a cold which dampened my spirits.
I came back up north to the sanctuary of Port Douglas, the town that makes me feel ‘home is where your heart is’ and realized the love I have of this place is as steadfast as it’s going to get in this life. The flawless August weather, palm tree lined beaches, fresh air, great food and friendships old and new that replenish my strength and appreciation for love and life. I needn’t keep searching because this place has the intangibles that ground me and my heart. I can feel creativity flowing and renewed vigour for the things I want to do, have and who I am. Time will tell how long I park my bus here.


Advertisement



19th August 2011

i LOVE you!!!!!!!!!! oh and port xxxxx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb