Not a bad place to get stuck


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
November 2nd 2009
Published: November 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Australia - Queensland - Port Douglas
After Dan's disappearance back home I decided to head back to Port Douglas, a beach town North of Cairns. It's a beautiful beach resort set in the tropics, a popular destination for weddings and a holiday destination for a few famous faces - not that I saw any mind you. It's also where Steve Irwin experienced his unfortunate encounter with a Stingray and a few kilometres further North of Port Douglas is where they film Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here.

Apart from all that, it became my beautiful home for two months. I stayed in an amazing hostel, Dougies Backpackers, where I purchased a little two man tent and found a cosy spot in the campsite. A great way to save some money and to get you out of bed in the morning by 8.30 unless you want to feel like you're cooking in an over.

I found some voluntary work at the Port Douglas Neighbourhood Centre where I manned reception every Friday and spent my other days split between doing work on my laptop in a little cafe in town, riding or walking on 4 mile beach, sunbathing and generally having the time of my life with a great bunch of friends.

We managed to squeeze in snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef where we swam with a sea-turtle and Nemo. I even got my first experience at being stung by a few midget jelly-fish. Towards the end of my stay, we avoided swimming at four-mile beach. Sightings of 5 crocs one morning and the beginning of Stinger season was more than enough to keep us away.

At Cape Tribulation, a beautiful beach where the jungle meets the sea, we drank Pina Coladas on the beach and had a go at jungle surfing - zip lining through the jungle and hanging upside down.

The pictures can say the rest about how brilliant the place is. I'm just hoping that one day I can go back :O)


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb