Monday - bus to Noosa


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
October 9th 2014
Published: October 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I left Byron Bay on the Greyhound bus, it was running about 15 minutes late but it didn't really matter. I had to walk from the hostel as the free mini bus wasn't running until later, so I had to hobble with my bags to the town centre lol.



The bus wasn't to busy but as we stopped off here and there a few more people got in. At one point - Brisbane I think it was, we stopped for 40 minutes and changed drivers. When we were told what time to be back his timings seemed to be a hour out. I knew the clocks had gone forward but that was in New South Wales, but we had now moved into Queensland and the clocks had stayed the same so I was an hour ahead lol. But once I knew I sorted out the timings on my watch and electronic devices.



When it was time to get back on the bus it was packed so gone was the luxury of me sitting on a seat on my own. I had a little chat with the lady who was sat next to me who was off to see her mum and getting off at the stop before me.



When we arrived in Noosa the free mini bus was waiting and about 6 if us got on. It was a few minutes drive to the hostel up hill! And as it was a hot sunny day again I was so glad the bus was there. After filing out the usual paperwork I checked in and was given my key and directions to my room.



It was a 6 bed mixed sex dorm and 3 of the beds were already taken so I chose a bottom bunk by the window and promptly made my bed with the sheets and pillow case provided. I was just settling in when a guy came in, a very tall guy I must admits his name was Ed and he was on a years sabbatical from work. Apparently he teaches IT to other tutors and lives in Plymouth. Apparently he was on his honeymoon ish with his wife. They had already been to Hawaii and Alaska and now she was whale watching/counting further up the coast. Ed was just hanging out until her work was done and job hunting.



We got chatting about their travels and he showed me some photos of Alaska so that's me hooked and my next place to visit! I told him about my travels and places to go in Vietnam, China and Japan as they are on their travel lists.



Eventually I got sorted and headed down to the beach for a couple of hours and then nipped to the 7/11 for supplies as the hostel, like most in Australia, has a kitchen we can use.



Later I attended the welcome meeting and got a free glass of wine. There was about 20 or so people there And it was a mixture of nationalities but mainly English and German. There was info about the hostel the fact that it's a listed building which means that some dorms do t have leccy points in the rooms so devices have to be charged at reception or in lockers which have power points. We are lucky we have 2 in our room and Ed has a socket which you can plug in USB leads and UK plugs so everyone on the room is using it lol. Ed said we could by the way :-)



So for the rest of the evening I made use of the wifi and uploaded the back log of blogs LOL. Then shower and bed ready for the zoo tomorrow :-)





Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb