New beginnings


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all and welcome to my blog!

A little background info first, My name is Angus Smith, I'm 24, male and awesome. I grew up on the Sunshine Coast in a little town called Noosa, an awesome place to grow up - not so much an awesome place to live in your 20's... Noosa is one of those places that you either get out and go and see the world or you stay there, settle into your weekly routine, pop out a few kids and settle into a domestic bliss - don't get me wrong that's all well and good but its not my cup of tea.

I stayed in Noosa until I was 18 years old before I joined the Navy and moved to Frankston in Victoria - Frankston made me realise how much you take it for granted growing up in such a nice town. Frankston is a town about an hour south of Melbourne and right on the train line. Its fairly safe unless you venture outside the central hub - this is something that I discovered first hand when I was down at the pier one night. A festival was being put on down near the Frankston foreshore and me and a few mates were enjoying the festivities over a nice bottle of passion pop. An altercation started with some local kids and one thing led to another and the next thing I knew I was having my face stitched back together in the hospital courtesy of a broken bottle to the face - from a 15 year old kid... Yep Frankston, wonderful town.

After about a year in Franky town I was posted to Sydney for 3 months and then on to Cairns. I loved Cairns, awesome weather, waterfalls, rainforest, reef and because it's a backpacker town it is also most definitely a party town. Any night of the week you can go out and meet people from all over the world and party until the wee hours of the morning and then drag your hungover arse to work in the morning before doing it all over again - this was my routine for the 15 or so months I was there.

Apart from the partying, Cairns is just an awesome place to be because there is always new people arriving in town or moving on to their next destination it just gives the town a happy and relaxed atmosphere. I can highly recommend Cairns as a destination in anyones itinerary.

After I left the Navy I left cairns and moved back to Noosa. Back into my parents house. And back into unemployment. My days consisted of sleeping in until midday, surfing (trying to surf anyway) and then sleeping again. It's safe to say that the old parentals were less than impressed so I eventually got my act together and got a job shovelling dirt, I stayed in that job for around 6 months and then moved to the Gold Coast to try my hand at uni. I enjoyed uni but I didn't enjoy having no money so I only lasted one semester. I managed to get a job working in construction on the high rises in surfers paradise where I learnt to sweep floors and empty bins! extremely riveting work! I spent most of my days fantasising about travel to places that I could not afford to get to.

That brings us up to now, I landed a job working in the seismic industry, I work 6 weeks on and 3 weeks off, the pay is good and I am now going to be able to fulfil some of my travel fantasies. I'm planning on spending my time off travelling and surfing all over the world and posting tales of my travels here on the world wide web for anyone who is interested in following my adventures to do so, who know's, I may even inspire a few people to get out and see the world.

It's going to be a bit of a slow start because I have some debt to pay first so it may take a couple of months to get into the swing of things but any new place that I visit I will be sure to write about it. There is a trip to South America in the pipeline for the end of the year and maybe a few other overseas trips that I will fit in around my master plan of taking my little van and driving the coast of Australia and New Zealand in 3 week blocks, so jump onboard and follow my journey as it happens.

Angus.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb