New Years Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mount Tamborine
January 1st 2013
Published: January 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So the first day of 2013 and I find myself helping collect the eggs from the chickens and geese, being given a grand tour of the Mount Tambourine estate, with detailed descriptions and tasting of the majority of the fruit trees and vegetation on the land, and a quick hit at tennis on the court they have…all in my pyjamas (luckily they were shorts and tshirt!) Peter is a very enthusiastic about the land and everything on the property and apparently I didn’t have enough time to change….the chickens wait for no-one!

After an hour or so and several rather large insect bites later I am finally rescued from the tour my Matt and Rowena who heard tennis being played and wanted to join in. We all headed back up to the house however and decided to play tennis properly after breakfast. After a lovely breakfast of poached duck eggs , bacon and baked beans, we welcomed in the English new year, watched the highlights of the fireworks across the world and headed back to the tennis court (I was then fully sports geared up thankfully).

Peter, Rowena, Matt and I played tennis for several hours, the majority of my shots were long but I hit the odd cracker and actually really enjoyed. By this point it was midday and without suncream we headed for the shade of the house and a well-deserved glass of water.



We said our goodbyes to Ann, Peter and Zoe and headed home. Spent a few hours chilling at home and at 5pm got ready to head into town to watch the Brisbane football team (Brisbane Roar) play a home match against Wellington.
We met with Matts friend and football buddy - Leighton, all went for pizza (traditional pre-match food apparently, unlike pies in the UK) and then entered the stadium.

We had spare season ticket cards as two of the other guys that usually go couldn’t make today, so we were all sitting together in the supporters area ‘The Den’. The match was good, similar skill level to local town football but the atmosphere was great. Lots of very enthusiastic fans, and I soon got the hang of all the chants and Brisbane won!

Headed home after the game, managed to keep myself to have a quick Skype with mum and then headed to bed in preparation for my first day at work tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb