End of Second Week


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Maroochydore
November 21st 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

What a mad day, we rose as usual and had our breakfast, and decided to swim for a while then lie in the sun for 1/ 2 an hour.

We needed to go in to ANZ bank to do our banking, we are chatting to the Bank Manager and we happen upon the conversation of our unwanted visitor, she, Belinda lives out in the sticks, by the zoo and said you haven’t had a spider in you’re house until you’ve had a “Huntsman”, goody I can’t wait for that!!!

We decided to drive out looking for some more car dealers, in the direction of Nambour, about 16 K’s from where we are staying. Pulling in to Gary Crick Nissan, its quite an impressive set up, and the sun is scorching hot, the AC is on full blast, in the Pea, and my hands are burning against the steering wheel. Out we get and start to look around, and the lovely shiny new vehicles, this is what we don’t want, let somebody else loose all that depreciation, driving it out of the dealership.

We are looking for a good reliable second hand truck.

Across the forecourt, came a guy who introduced himself as Erin, and asks if he can be of any assistance, we explain what we are after and what we are wanting a vehicle do , I am really wanting a Nissan Pathfinder, its long enough to allow us to sleep in it should the situation arise and I am sure It will do. We explain about the adventure, and we go inside to talk some more, its lovely and cool inside their air-conditioned showroom.

Erin thinks that a Nissan Patrol would be best suited for our needs, don’t go for petrol he insists, if you are going “Up North” then its diesel you want, he says the quality of the petrol can be poor and the availability can be difficult. We tell him about the Toyota Prado 4 litre Petrol we have seen, he comments that they are great cars, but we should strongly think about petrol Vs Diesel.

We take this Nissan Patrol for a test drive, it’s a big 4x4 (3 litre Diesel) with 93,000K’s on the clock, it goes well, it is fairly quiet for a diesel. This truck has had one owner from new and is a 2005 Model, the previous owner, is a disabled guy, an ex soldier who can buy vehicles through an M.o.d scheme one every 4 years. It has been converted with an extra fuel tank, double batteries, and has been kept nice and tidy, although the body does have a couple of dinks in it.

By now Erins boss Dan, has got involved with the frivolity, and the general arseing about, I said if I came in with the amount in cash, what discount would they give me, er ! don’t really want cash they proclaim, but cash is the general language of the world, rightly or wrongly, it is.
Anyway to cut to the chase, (Thank god we hear you all sigh), they let us take it home Friday night so we can look over it etc, and it has to be back by 3.00pm of Saturday.
Tonight we decided to take our supper and cook it on the BBQ, by the ocean, we get home rush in, prepare the salad, get the plates, and bits and pieces then shot off to do dinner about ½ a mile away. As its Friday night a 2 families there already there so we wait
StarbucksStarbucksStarbucks

Our favourite internet location
our turn.
The hot plate becomes available, and we cook our supper, being a proficient BBQ chef, taught by the “Master” Himself DJ Mikey of Deridene its easy. We sit and eat and watch the Ocean, and wonder how many predators are close by.
Tonight we need to update a couple of days of the blog, we are excited as there is some good stuff and good pictures, well we think so.!!
In to Starbucks, get our coffee’s then find a seat outside and set the notebook up, as we get on line, I see my sister Jane has her Skype open, we call her and she answers.
Its great to see her, she looks well, all her family are fine, which I am content with, a couple of times I have to re compose myself or I might cry, I do miss Jane and the kids.
Importantly Mum is OK, Jane is printing out the blog and posting it to mum to read, and she is enjoying it. My mum is a complete “Technophobe” but when Caroline mentioned, her getting a laptop so she can also Skype us, Mary jumps at the chance. We finish up sending e-mails, then head back to the apartment. Tomorrow is up early, Caroline wants to Skype the Girls in the morning, so off to Starbucks again,
We get in to the flat, and I am doing some blog for the day and Caroline tells me there is a cockroach on the wall, she try’s to catch it with the cup and card trick, but to no avail, and I suggest I would have ago. It is like greased lightning far to fast for me, so we come up with a cunning plan. We need to shoo it out!!! Have you ever tried to shoo a cockroach out, as they definitely don’t understand what it is you are trying to do. So we open the door and work together. (No chance) its some where in here laughing its head off.)
I put in another half an hour then fall in to bed, the night is warm and the punkawalla fan is working overtime I’m hot so no option than to sleep on top of the bed.
We are out on Saturday night with friends from the UK, Karen and Derek, I am wanting to Skype Mary at 11.00pm Brisbane time, as Jane will have set the laptop up for her. Love you Mum, and miss you lots.
And so to bed, today has been crazy, I thought this was going to be a relaxing holiday/adventure.
Love to all of you.
Hey, a great idea,
Why don’t you read someone else’s blog, who are on their travels, then if you enjoy send them a message to say so. They would love it, we do !!
Andy & Caoline



Advertisement



3rd December 2008

Blogtastic!
Read someone elses blog? You must be kidding - a) it wouldn't be interesting as I don't give a wombat what they are up to, and b) when would I have time - your's take up my life!! Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love them to bits and the bit about shooing the cockroach made me laugh a great deal, but . . . . . get real - me thinks you've 'ad too much sunshine!xxxxxx Seriously though, fabulous stories guys- keep them up!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb