Magnetic Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post



I arrived in the early evening on Magnetic Island and stayed at this backpacker resort called Xbase. Actually, it was quite a good deal by Australian standards. I decided not to do any diving here - although I heard that the Yongala wreck was absolutely amazing. I met a few friends - Jay from Sydney and Maria from Germany and we ended up renting a Moke to cruise around the island. I was worried at first because officially, I was the only one with a valid license - but I am so back at driving stick shift and not so comfortable with driving on the wrong side of the road or the wrong side of the car yet. Anyway, it was still a lot of fun to try, and I'm getting a lot better. We did a little hike up to the lookout on the mountain, saw a koala chilling in a tree along the way. I was also here over Halloween. I didn't bring a costume this year. I usually go
BeachBeachBeach

Up the beach from our place
all out for Halloween, so this year was the most half-assed last minute costume. It didn't really matter. It was still a lot of fun.

I then got the Oz Experience bus down to Airlie beach...


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

KoalaKoala
Koala

We saw this little guy hanging out on our hike up the mountain
HalloweenHalloween
Halloween

I think this is the most half-assed Halloween costume I've ever had - a cape made from a plastic bag. Little effort, but still a lot of fun.
Xbase1Xbase1
Xbase1

Pool at the backpackers place


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb