Branding goats, clay pidgeon shooting and cracking whips in Kroombit!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kroombit
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow what a trip!! I must say the last few days have been awesome!! It started off with a cool chilled out and cheap day in Cool Bananas ($22 a night!) as it was pouring with rain! The next day was also chilled after some drinking (gooning) in the evening. This followed with the essential scooter roo trip combining motorbiking and kangeroo watching!! Bloody amazing considering I have never riden a motorbike before! It started off a bit scary as I was unable to turn right because of issues with my balance (my wii fit age of 36 proves this)!! We got into it and it turned crazy! We had guys just randomly breaking infront of you, followed by overtaking on the left, which when ur biking is alot more frightening than driving! Unfortunately we didnt see any kangeroos however it was still "The ride of my life"!! Next stop Kroombit cattle station!!

I was worried that paying 50 bucks a night at Kroombit wasnt going to be worth it, but I was very very wrong! The fresh stakes in the afternoon when we arrived were more than worth it! This was followed by clay pidgeon shooting!! I hit the first two pidgeons but had no success after that. 2/5 isnt too bad! Some people didnt hit any so it was a good effort! we later practiced using a lassoo and then had the task of rounding up goats!!! Mental when ur have to grab the horns, drag it to one side and turn it over fully!! Once on its side you brand the animal and ur done!! The Goats were suprisingly easy to handle and flipping it over was no problem!

Later in the evening we (about 30 ppl) held hands and felt the full effect of a horse tranquiliser!!! One mad group of people formed a smaller circle and took the full effect and the bravest took a hit on the body!! Mental madness!! We also learnt how to crack a whip in the evening and to do the bucking bronko!! I wish I'd had a go, but with my back problems it was unadvisable to do it!! After more great food (Soup for starters with potato salad and steak) we played some drinking games and prepared for a 6am wake up call for the trip to Airlie beach!!

I love how the east coast becomes cheaper as u go north!! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb