Somerset Dam


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Ipswich
October 15th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Camping Spot at SomersetCamping Spot at SomersetCamping Spot at Somerset

Lots of grassey space and generous sized sites.
Somerset Dam is about a half hour drive from Ipswich, and a little north of the Wivenhoe Dam which became famous in 2011 as it fed the Brisbane floods.

Somerset Dam is in a bushy valley that abounds in Australian wild life. Many who travel to Aus take photos of our cuddly koalas in sanctuaries, but at Somerset, with a little patience you find the dinkum thing in the wild.

In case you think the koala was at close range - he was high up the gum tree. Photos taken with a Canon SX40HS on max optical and digital zoom.

The lake and the river are good fishing spots with some other watersports also well catered for. Those with a need for speed on the water are better off at Wivenhoe Dam.

The camping ground just below the dam is clean, quiet and inexpensive, so a group from Church spent a great weekend in this lovely valley.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Somerset DamSomerset Dam
Somerset Dam

Photo taken from the camp area.
Going fishingGoing fishing
Going fishing

Sadly he came back with nought today. A regular fisherman here tells me that he is a month too early in the river system.
Gidday - I'm cuddlyGidday - I'm cuddly
Gidday - I'm cuddly

This young male Koala entertained us for some time.
While You have a cuppaWhile You have a cuppa
While You have a cuppa

I'll eat some gum leaves
I'm tired of this photoshootI'm tired of this photoshoot
I'm tired of this photoshoot

I've got to get my beauty sleep ready for another day.
Yes - Thats me Yes - Thats me
Yes - Thats me

Taken with a 4x zoom camera.


Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 171; dbt: 0.249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb