Hervey Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
April 18th 2013
Published: April 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Boo!

So today was supposed to be Fraser Island day. But, when I got there, I quickly realized the bike couldn't handle what the island had to offer. The roads are all like beach sand. I knew that going in, but the dude at the hostel said I'd be fine. He takes dirt bikes there all the time. Dirt bikes...

The Tenere (you know, Beatrice) has tires suited for the road, not the sand. So, I still gave it a go, but in the end ended up playing it safe and only going a few kilometers to what's called Central Station and parked it, took a hike, and waited for the ferry back. Bummer because I was all set to camp out on the island with the rest of the hostel folks... They were in 4x4s... Haha.

So, even though I couldn't get to the other side of the island and romp up the coast, it was still a fun day. Well, maybe wrestling the bike through sand for like 8km wasn't fun. But it was a good workout! What a hike though!

So, ya, just ended up taking a walk through the island rain forest. Pretty cool stuff. Have a video but am STILL suffering bandwidth-itis so can't get it up at the moment. I'm having difficulty connecting to the wifi at the place I'm staying. Oh well. But I put up a couple of pics.. The beach in Hervey Bay and some of the rain forest I hiked thorough. It started at a boardwalk but soon turned into a trail up to a lake. Real nice.

So, one more day here in Hervey Bay, then off to Cairns with a stopover in Mackay for a night. First time doing the whole AirBnB thing... Should be interesting...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb