Pilgrimage to the Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Heron Island
October 3rd 2012
Published: October 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Heron IslanderHeron IslanderHeron Islander

This is the ferry that we took to the island.
I was so excited to spend the week on a tropical island in the Great Barrier Reef but had to face some brutal travel conditions to get there. Our group took a midnight bus up north to catch a ferry to the island. We got on the bus at 11:30 pm (10/2/12) and didn’t get off at the ferry stop until 8 am. Sleeping on the bus was pretty much impossible and it didn’t help that the driver stopped every couple hours for a bathroom break. We even stopped at 2:30 am for 45 mins to get food…still not sure why a bus of sleeping kids would need food at that hour?? When we got to the ferry stop, we had to sit around for 3 more hours and wait for the ferry that didn’t leave until 11. At least it was a nice day so I was able to catch some zzz’s laying in the sun.

The ferry ride was a scene from a horror film. I’m not kidding. They warned us that waves would be rough in the open water but failed to emphasize how helpful seasickness medicine would be. We got on the boat and every table
StrugglingStrugglingStruggling

My friends trying to hold their composure as the waves started getting pretty rough
had a box of tissues and a stack of white paper bags. We just laughed it off thinking that they were being overly careful for those that had a really weak stomach. Apparently, everyone had a really weak stomach. For the entire 2-hour ride, people were dropping like flies from seasickness. You know how the typical drawing of a sick person has a green face? Well I never understood that cliché until I witnessed faces literally turn green. About 20 of them. I was sitting at the back of the boat and every single time I looked up, another green-faced student was dizzily shuffling to the deck behind me to get sick off of the railing.

I learned on this trip that I must have a stomach of steel because for whatever reason I was completely not phased by the motion sickness. I mean not even a hint of discomfort for the whole two hours. So, like the great friend that I am, I took advantage of this opportunity to snap shots of all of my friends facing this near-death experience. I know that sounds pretty cruel but don't worry, we made an agreement in the beginning of the
Another CasualtyAnother CasualtyAnother Casualty

I thought for a little while that Colleen was going to make it out alive but I was wrong.
ride that we could take pictures of each other if anyone gets sick. I'm so glad that we did because we still crack up when we look back at them again.

When we finally reached land, I was surprised that half of the boat didn’t collapse on the ground and kiss it. Even though that was the most uncomfortable bus ride and terrifying (for me, hilarious) boat ride, everyone agreed that the amazing week at Heron Island was well worth it. I’ll fill you in on that soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb