A Day On The Green (Island)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Green Island
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Guess who's back, back again. Brenny's back, tell a friend.

I'm writing this blog for a second time, as my computer thought it would fun to, instead of saving the text like I asked it to, just bugger up and leave me back at square 1. So I apologise if it's a bit shorter than usual.

Up early again today, somewhat begrudgingly in Michele's case, as she'd had very little sleep, and we were off to the docks. Despite the dodgy-looking overcast skies, we caught the 8:30am boat to Green Island, which is the only coral cay in the Great Barrier Reef to develop a rainforest. Luckily the sun decided to join us as the day went on.

After arriving at about 9:30am, we had a very brief look around before our Glass Bottom Boat voyage at 10am. I was pleasantly surprised at how well you could see everything going on under the water, and we caught glimpses of a shark and a stinger and various types of fish. But as far as our encounters with the reef goes, it was only the beginning.

Once back on dry land, we went to pick up our snorkeling gear and headed down to the beach. Having never snorkeled before myself, I found it a strange experience at first, and often ended up pulling a funny face or going to talk and getting a faceful of very salty water. Breathing only through your mouth is a little tricky to get used to. We did have a disposable underwater camera, but as we had no way of getting the film developed, none of those photos will be appearing on the blog 😞 I also had some trouble working the camera, as I'd never attempted to use a disposable camera before. It was a day of initially failing at new things for me.

After snorkeling around for an hour or so, my back was noticeably crispier, as was Michele's, but these things happen. It was well worth it. I plan to snorkel again whenever the opportunity presents itself.

We were out of the water, and off to grab a bite to eat. We spent the rest of our time on Green Island relaxing by the pool, and enjoying a chilled final afternoon in Cairns.

When the time came to head back to The Lakes, we were on a much smaller boat, in much worse conditions. Despite bouncing around all over the place, Michele and I both managed to fall asleep on the return voyage. It was a one more big day of an amazing time in Cairns.

So here I am, organising the final bits and pieces before we fly out tomorrow (to Darwin, woo!), while Michele has crashed in a heap into bed.

We miss you all.
Take care

Brennen.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



20th September 2010

green island
yay finally tackeled snorkling and won sounds like you had a fantastic time mum

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb