I Heart Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Upper Coomera
February 26th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Sydney it finally feels like our trip has really started!! We arrived in the Gold Coast and while waiting in the airport for our shuttle all of these camera and tv crews started pouring in. Not knowing what was going on we asked someone and found out the Quicksilver surf team just flew in for a competition. There was a big press event with free food and drinks for everyone. Our hour wait definately went by fast when we had all those hot surfer guys to look at. And we saw Kelly Slater, to be honest I had no idea who he was but someone pointed him out for me.

After the big festivities ended we boarded our shuttle and of course the second we left the airport it started to rain. Actually it didn't rain, it poured! Because the climate is tropical there is usually one downpour a day, that’s the price you have to pay to be in paradise. An hour later we arrived in Byron Bay and I can honestly say that if I don't return to California at the end of the trip it is because I have moved to Byron Bay. I am in love with this place. The water is clear blue, the beaches have the softest sand, and bordering the sand are lush tropical forests. Too top it off hundreds of rainbow parakeets fill all the trees! Plus the temperature of the water is a perfect 75 degrees. The town is very hippy and laid-back, and everyone drives VW vans. Its literally like we went back in time to the 70s and I love it. Oh and they have Mexican food here, which is probably the best part about this place. I already went there yesterday, today, and I will probably go to tomorrow as well. The second best thing about this place is the guy to girl ratio is about 5:1 

The hostile is really nice, voted #1 in Australia. We are in a 10-person dorm with a bunch of 18-year-old guys from America. Surprisingly they are not that annoying and are very entertaining. There are two spas, a kitchen, and free drinks. The only downside are the communal bathrooms, I don't think I can ever get used to having a guy pee next to me. But I guess this is just getting me ready for camping which will start in a week. We went out last night and the bars reminded me so much of pb, but they were in more casual. Everyone wore flip-flops and jean shorts and just drank beer.

Today we are going to hike to the most eastern point of Australia which is supposed to be beautiful. So as you can probably tell I love this place, I am never leaving.




Advertisement



27th February 2010

I love Bryon Bay
Erinn, You keep those boys away from you. I would hope that you come homewith a man from Australia and not a young lad from the USA. (HAHA) We arrived into Weaverville last night. The weather was so weird. Raining and yet I saw stars and the moon. I got to eat at the four star restaurant I like Sonic. Tonight we go to the Widows Dinner. Crumpett is loving every minute because when we open the door he thinks it is time to go for a walk. David and are going to the Chinese New Year parade this morning. It is the year of the dragon (Lena's sign).. The dog needs to stay home because of the fire crackers. Well honey I love you. Mom

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb