Relaxing in Mermaid Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Broadbeach
April 13th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 6
Another easy going day, starting off with another swim. Bad rips again, at knee deep on the sand bar you can feel them trying to rip you off your feet, so it’s back to the baby pool for us. LOL. But we are the only people on the beach again. I guess at 8am not everyone is up. We are still waking up at 6am daily. Maybe 7 if we really try. At least we are making use of everyday to its fullest potential. We decided to go for a walk along the beach, starting in mermaid beach we walked about a km to end up at the pub, what a convenience, Joel met us here after he finished shopping, as that was the reason we walked into town to. We went shopping for dinner supplies. Chicken parmesan and pasta, excellent work Jackie. It was delicious. Joel threw on a DVD about the history of Footy, so we would be a little more educated in the game. Jackie already has a team picked out. Sean and I are still looking. The night finishes with more beer and me crashing around 8 or 9pm. I am going to blame the sun and the heat…


Day 7
here we are, another gorgeous day, the temp is hitting 27c today and we are loving it. I made a couple calls on trucks for sale to try to dig something up. No luck so far. But soon. I hope…. I was able to sleep till 8am today! A record so far. Joel took us out to the spit where the surfers hang out and catch some waves. It was a good intro for us. We didn’t surf but instead body surfed, the larger waves some topping 1.5 meters in height were a new experience. I ended up way out in the surf only to find I couldn’t touch bottom anymore. Treading water while getting pummelled by waves is not the easiest way to learn but I sure won’t complain about mom sending me to swimming lessons anymore. It was easy enough to catch a few waves back in though and all was good. We are getting better and better in the waves, no one go toppled end over end today which was good. We headed to a marina and looked into bbq boats to take out for the day with a group of friends. Can’t wait for that. Then had a beer in the marina bar, did I mention it’s still hot out…. Damn that sun is killer. We then went to the surf club for fish and chips and another beer. An excellent way to enjoy the day. I have been slacking on keeping blogs updated so as I write this everyone here is napping and we are planning to head out to the pub in about 30 minutes. Should be enjoyable. Every 10 minutes it seems like Sean is suggesting the pub, and why not, cold beer, a/c and a deck to sit out and look at the beach goers... if your catching my drift. LOL

Sorry no photos for these few days.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb