Condamine, Qld


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Condamine
January 13th 2012
Published: January 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday 14 January - After John settled into a good days working I decided to head into the big smoke to do some shopping (Miles is the closest town for shopping with two supermarkets!!!!!). I did my shopping and started heading back to Condamine when I noticed the heat gauge on the car was very hot and as I was only 3klm from Miles I turned around and then spotted a truck bay so pulled over. A nice man pulled over when he saw the hood of the car up and gave me lift into Miles to see if there was any RAC in town but had to call the RACQ out from Chinchilla (46klms). He then brought me back to the caravan as it was quite hot and I had shopping in the car, then John and Mick (from the caravan park) went back to meet the RAC man and they found that the hose at the bottom of the radiator had come off, they fixed it then John took the car into Miles to have all the hoses looked at and fixed. We are so thankful that it did not happen when we were traveling with the caravan on the back and that I did stop and not drive back into town as I could have cooked the motor.
Most towns we stop at have a history of some sort and Condamine was settled in 1851 - in 1867 Samuel Jones was a blacksmith in town and invented the Condamine Bull Frog Bell using sheet metal from a cross cut saw or pit saw. There is a monument in the main street of a giant bell.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb