If You Ate Today, Thank A Farmer. Me!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Clermont
March 10th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got Me A Proper ChapeauGot Me A Proper ChapeauGot Me A Proper Chapeau

There's a difference between the myself and the Aussies. I make this look good!
This is probably as close as I will ever get to being farmer Polish Paul.
Nevertheless, I feel pretty good about my marginal contribution to the grain harvest in Queensland this season. We're still in the harrowing stage, which is the preparatory work well before the seeds go in the ground. Driving the John Deere 8400 day in day out while it pulls a harrow, a wide marvel of engineering made of steel, which is designed to knock down the seeds and break the stalks of remaining plantings and weeds. Manning this green beast 12-13 hours a day takes its toll on the body and mind. One learns to keep occupied after listening to the same cd four times a day. Yeah, at least it comes with a cd player and A/C, sweet!
My mornings begin with me racing out to the fields, in a late model Diahatsu Ute, to watch the sun poke at the sky from behind a set of mountains to the east. Conversely, I end my days chasing the sun while it yearns to beat me in crossing the horizon finish line to the west. It could be worse. Considering that I wanted a full-time job and not having the time to spend the money and now I have it. The grass does always seem to be greener on the other side. More to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Beauty SunsetBeauty Sunset
Beauty Sunset

One thing I can always count on. Nature nurtures the mind with this sort of nightly entertainment.
My RoomatesMy Roomates
My Roomates

I share the accomodations with these blokes. Gekkos are not necessarily green, as Geico would have you believe. Learn something new every day.
John Deere 8400 John Deere 8400
John Deere 8400

Harrowing the Sorghum
My New RideMy New Ride
My New Ride

The Green Beast
Sunset out on the PaddockSunset out on the Paddock
Sunset out on the Paddock

Camera does not do this scene justice, but still worth praise.


1st April 2008

YO POLISHHHH
looking good man.. john deere has cd player and ac eh? thats sweet. check yo'self before you wreck yo'self
6th April 2008

kangury
Cze[ PaweB. Basia czeka na zdjcia kangurów. Pozdrawiamy ci

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb