Finding Nemo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
October 19th 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Cairns! Awesome.

I really like it here. It's a pretty small city but all the locals still say 'hello' as they pass you, it's hot, quite pretty and you can shop to your heart's content.

Today howver, I left the city to journey on the Ocean Freedom to snorkel the Great Barrier Reef in search of Nemo.

Despite rain on the mainland, a little way into the reef, the Sun decided to come out to play which made the water sparkle several shades of blue and green.

We reached our first destination and were let loose into the ocean for a snorkel. The waves were choppy so it was a little difficult to swim but how can you complain when you're on the Great Barrier Reef?

The Coral was just beautiful and surrounded by all types of colourful fish. No Nemo yet though.

Water kept leaking into my mask and it took me a little while to figure out that it was because I was smiling too much- idiot! You can't smile and snorkel at the same time!

After climbing aboard, I climbed straight back off again and onto a glass-bottom boat. We were guided around and had an historical and scientific lesson on the reef including the damage from the recent cyclone. No Nemo here either.

Next stop was an "island." They pointed to this so called "island" but I couldn't actually see where it was. Eventually, as we came closer, I saw it. It was the tiniest sand island with space for around 10 people to stand on. I got to feel like a castaway for a few minutes.

The water around the island was shallow and crystal clear. Slowly, we walked into the water until it was finally deep enough to stick on our flippers and get snorkelling.

I stalked one the crew members so that she could point out interesting things such as weird sea cucumbers which I was able to touch.

After a bit of a search, I found Nemo! And his dad. Swimming in and out of the anemones. I also found a shark playing hide and seek under a rock which I wasn't quite expecting. Have no fear though, he was nowhere near Nemo.

After a few good finds, I swam back to the boat and began getting ready to head back to Cairns.

It was a bit of a bumpy ride but I managed to avoid getting soaked by 'hiding' in a sort of cupboard thing. I was asked my numerous people when I'd be coming out of the closet. You may be laughing but who's soaking wet and who's lovely and dry?

Time to leave the boat and begin the long walk back to the hostel. My hat flies clean off my head in the wind but is luckily caught by a passer by and handed back to me. Phew.

Good start to Cairns...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb