Recent events (scuba diving)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
July 13th 2010
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so we went back to the cliffs for some more diving. As we were about to leave two guys from the US showed up to jump also. Until scuba diving on the reef yesterday (Monday), what happened next was the greatest thing to happen on this trip. Brady (Pennsylvania) and Steve (Washington) jumped into the water to swim across the lagoon to climb up and jump. The initial jump in is only 3-4 feet. However, Brady managed to make it the most awkward entry I've ever seen. That record lasted about 1 minute until Steve jumped in in a leap-frog manner and belly-flopped. That was the moment we all stopped and decided we had to watch them jump the actual cliff. They spent a little while surveying the jump so I climbed up to assure them it was safe. Steve was a little more nervous than Brady so he wanted to go first. Needless to say Steve's jump was less than graceful. The only thing different with this jump from his initial entry was the height. Instead of a belly-flop from 4 feet, Steve managed a successful one from 45 feet. Once we realized he was alright, I don't think I've ever laughed that hard in my life. Steve's fine and we chipped in to buy him a beer later that night. Just one beer though, I'm not rewarding that sort of lack of athleticism. That was Friday.
Saturday, I met, arguably, the most interesting person I've ever met in my life. Wil is an ex district attorney from Oregon and he lives on a 66 foot schooner that was custom built in 1925. He's been sailing around the world for the past 8-13 years, depending on when you count his start. He's looking for a crew for his next leg through French Polynesia. Sarah, Nora, and I went to his boat Saturday to talk to him about joining him. He didn't say he would take us on but he didn't say he wouldn't either. We're going to have a big cook-out tomorrow, invite him, and hopefully he'll take a liking to us. Since it seems like it might be a long shot at this point, I won't go into too much detail about the whole thing. But, essentially he loads up on supplies from Salvation Army and island hops. When he comes to truly remote areas he gives locals supplies and attempts to get to know them. I'm not sure this will go anywhere though.
Monday, I went to the Great Barrier Reef to scuba dive. I don't even know how to explain this day. The boat I went on was a 55' sail boat named Ocean Free. We sailed out to Green Island, which has a crocodile reserve with the world's largest Crocodile in captivity, and we dove around the reef twice for about an hour. I need to go back.

Advertisement



13th July 2010

safety
"so I climbed up to assure them it was safe" I'm glad you are the safety go-to on this trip. Safety first, fun second. Is Wil Captian Ron? Cause that was a great movie. Love you Kinchy, be good.
13th July 2010

Sounds like a blast
Wow -- that sounds absolutely hilarious...pretty jealous of you pal. Can't believe you are cliff jumping and scuba diving in the South Pacific. My Mom and I are wishing you the best!!! -DGS
14th July 2010

Made me laugh out loud!!!
OK, as bad as I feel for the 2 guys who belly flopped I did laugh out loud over that- poor fools!!!! Glad you are having fun laughing at those less fortunate than you- make me proud!!! I want to go on record that you and crocs cannot possibly mix and therefore my professional advice is to STAY AWAY for the crocs!!! Love you kid, keep us posted!
14th July 2010

Are You For Scuba?
Danny, Good to see the trip is going well. Must say I'm jealous. Good luck getting on that guys boat. He sounds like Claude- the nudist scuba instructor from Along Came Polly. Not sure if you know the reference. You're missed back home. Not too much to update back here. There’s a serious heat wave over here- hotter than a demon's crotch. Other than that, business as usual. Be safe and have a good time. Talk soon, Bert
22nd July 2010

What's happening?
Hi Danny, Just had not heard about the last week abroad, thought I would check in. I am sure everyday has numerous adventures... keep us posted. Vicariously yours, your cousin, Susan.
22nd July 2010

"Arguably"
Hey Dan glad to see all is well! Obviously you have already forgotten how interesting I am!! That's alright I understand it is less painful to just not think about it!! Things here have been INCREDIBLE!! I have been going to work on the week days! Hanging out on the weekends!! I am thinking of buying some new underwear, perhaps something sexy!! I had spicy chicken pad thai for lunch yesterday, no bean sprouts! I am sure this will come as no surprise I was thrown out of the game Sunday night, in that regarding same old same old. But I do not want to leave you on a down note. Oh screw it!! Later!! God Speed!!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb