Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
November 20th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

“The Great Barrier Reef”
It has long been a dream of mine to visit the Great Barrier Reef. Watching programs on the discovery channel and various documentaries has sparked a deep interest in this underwater city of biological diversity. November 19th, 2008 will forever be etched in my memory as the day that I dove below the surface of the Ocean and swam alongside this ancient and sacred Mecca for marine enthusiasts.
At 8:00am Nick and I boarded the ‘Tusa T5’ which is an ultra modern, 24meter catamaran. It takes a maximum of 60 passengers and features a sun deck, freshwater showers, air conditioned lounge, sunken dive platform and several LCD televisions. It was very impressive and travelled at about 20 nauts as we made our way out to the outer barrier reef. Along the way we were given instructions on scuba diving including how to clear your mask if it fills up with water, how to equalize the pressure in your ears and how to use hand signals to communicate underwater.
When we arrived at our first dive site of the day, we suited up with masks, fins and oxygen tanks. We made our way to the sunken dive platform and with a giant step we entered the water. Our dive instructor made us perform some basic skills before we could go down and then after we signaled that we were okay to go deeper, we descended. We went deeper and deeper, equalizing as we did and then we saw the reef in full view. I almost forgot to breathe when I took in my first look at the reef. It was a kaleidoscope of coral and tropical fish that were decorated in almost ornate fashions. Few sights have inspired me more or captured my interest in more profound ways. Shelves of coral both hard and soft shaped like brains, horns, round table tops and some moving gently with the rhythm of the tide washing over the reef…absolutely awe inspiring. There are over 200o types of fish that call the reef home, some are long and impossibly thin (razor fish), others are huge; metres long. The abundance and variety was overwhelming and the fish welcomed us into their world by surrounding and swirling around us. I even had a giant clown fish (about 2 metres in length) swim past me and brush my side like a cat does. To make that connection was incredible. We went deeper, down below 20metres or so and investigated crevasses and hiding places where sea life was clinging to the reef. We pointed wildly to each other as we saw incredible things and had to share it with another human. I don’t think I blinked once in my first 20min under the water. Giant sea clams, sea cucumbers and schools of vibrantly coloured fish darting about was just a taste of what the reef had to offer. We discovered a new world that can only be experienced properly in person. We made two dives and snorkeled a lot also and it was simply spectacular. I could go on forever but I’m running out of time on my internet card, so I’ll just describe one more thing. When you look out underwater at the reef, it stretches as far as you can see and fills your field of vision with its beauty. We were given a reef interpretation presentation to help us know what we were looking at, but it was like trying to learn a new language with only one page of that language’s dictionary. The diversity of marine life is staggering and I have to go back again, does anyone want to come with me? Jake-out.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



20th November 2008

so happy
Jakob and Nick, I am so happy for both of you and that you are both expearicing this aventure together. I am just loving coming home and reading your blogs that make me laugh so hard and then today was the day you got me. Just looking at these pictures i had tears in my eyes, from the beauty and trying to imagine the feeling that you must have had just seeing all this. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and know that I am so happy for you. One of my favorite picture is the one of you and the kangaroo that is so priceless. Love you lots
21st November 2008

Thanks Tivie
I really appreciate the comment, it's nice to hear that I'm able to explain what I experienced and have you understand the feeling. The great barrier reef may be the most beautiful thing I have ever seen in nature and I think that anyone who experiences it must feel the same way. Can't wait to see you at Christmas! Love Jake.
23rd November 2008

I'll join you.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb