Waiting for the bus


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
February 6th 2009
Saved: April 4th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -16.9254, 145.775

One of the best things about my friends is most of them are great cooks, love to chat and will find any excuse for a little get together.
So the other night a few of us "got together" for a night of curry magic.
Nothing flash but the food was superb, we even had banana, apricot and cranberry meringue with banana custard for dessert. Decedent, excessive, but really yummy. It seems the one trait none of us possess is prudence.
It was the last chance I had to say goodbye to some of the Cairns crew and it felt fitting to do it by stuffing our faces.
Only 1 more day left here in Cairns, I wont be back until probably mid June, which isn't such a bad thing because by then the wet season will be over, not that Ive seen much of it after being in Melbourne (which started off in Dec with 16 degrees and by the time I left 7 weeks later it had been 40+ for 3 days, another reason for not wanting to live there, at least in Cairns its either warm or wet and warm, like it is now) .
Although I wont actually miss out on a wet season because Cambodia's wettest months are March and April, so I will be able to enjoy a Monsoon season which sounds wetter but calmer than the Cyclone season we have here.
Today will be spent going through my gear and making sure I've got everything that I need but nothing I don't.
Last time I went overseas I carried a 2 man tent around Europe for 2 years and never used it once.
Its hard to be a minimalist when we live in a world of excess, I wouldn't have this problem if I only had one set of clothes.


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb