Day 9 - Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
July 5th 2017
Published: July 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Skydiving!Skydiving!Skydiving!

Excuse the face - it was never going to be flattering for me.
Today was the day - chucking myself out a plane. I woke up at 5:30am, so nervous, it hadn't quite sunk in yet. We were meeting at 7:30am so I had a couple of hours to kill so I tried to read my book, but it didn't calm me down at all. Anyway, the bus finally arrived and I was sh*tting one. We got to the skydive 'hang out' and put our harnesses on and signed our lives away. There were only five of us in our group going ahead with it, me, Fabio, Malissa, Meghan and Griffin. I met my instructor who I was relying on to keep me alive - Ryan. Lovely guy, very ozzie, so chilled and laid back. We went through all the procedures such as make a banana shape, tilt head back then when he tapped me I was to open my arms out.



So we all piled into the plane, there were three other people who we didn't know. Two of which were jumping out at 6,000ft. As the plane went up and we reached their mark, the door opened and off they went, one of them exclaiming 'I don't think I want to do this anymore', at that point she didn't really have a choice. She 'jumped' out and I was just thinking, 'oh my goodness, what am I doing here'. But then we were at 14,000ft and it was my turn, I was the first out of our group and I just thought 'what the hell am I doing'. It was one of the most bizarre feelings free-falling through the sky. When we got to the clouds, Ryan pulled the parachute and we drifted round. I felt so at peace with life - it was the best feeling. I looked up and saw the rest of the guys floating behind me.



While we were waiting for our videos and photos to be ready we went to a little tea shop across the road and all had a muffin/ cake each with a coffee (or tea). I also felt the need to buy a cheeky skydiving t-shirt because why not!



We walked round Cairns looking through the gift shops and had lunch at Jimmy's Burgers, after that we went to sort out Britney's present - a photo in a frame and a signed ball. We did a bit more shopping and then walked back to our hostel which took about 40 minutes!



A nap and shower later we regrouped for drinks before heading out to the Wool Shed/ Cotton Club where we had dinner and more drinks. We played a few games, and Brit showed us some mind tricks - sneaky thing! Dancing on the tables followed soon after - then just normal dancing. After a random guy fell off the table and pushed me forward I felt it was time to call it a night. Apart from that - it was a lovely family night. A few of us caught the free shuttle home, said our goodbyes and headed to our rooms. We waited up till the others got back about an hour and a bit later. We chatted in our room then Malissa, Fabio and I headed downstairs to chill before they got their taxi at 3:50am. I left them to it at about 3am - I was shattered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



5th July 2017

Sky diving
Woaaahhhh - respect!!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb