Day 101: Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
March 8th 2010
Published: March 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 101: Monday, March 8th, 2010
Cairns, Australia.

Today was a free day and I had signed up for only one excursion, quad bike racing in the afternoon. So, I lounged around in the morning, did some swimming and got some laundry done. Then that afternoon, myself, Cam, Renne and Rod headed off to the mountains (well, maybe more "hills"). Quad bike racing is the Aussie term for 4 wheeling. I've never done it before, and it only took me the first hour to calm down enough to enjoy it. I was at the back of our pack because I didn't want to slow the guys down and I only got stuck in the river/mud a few times. It is fast and it is scary- but thrilling. And damn is it dirty- that was great! I look forward to doing it again. I was feeling the effort of turning that bike for the next few days though- my upper arms were killing me as well as my inner thighs from gripping the seat so that I didn't flip over on turns. That night was a walkabout night and myself and Christine (Canadian) ate at the Night Arcade food court and did some shopping. Once again, I am searching for shoes to wear that don't hurt me and are cute. This is an ongoing battle and every trip I take I end up in a shoe store trying something new (Scott can attest to this- had to stop twice for our NYC trip a couple of years ago!) Early night because we were heading to The Whitsundays tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



29th March 2010

You jumped a pool with your 4-wheeler?
VROOOOOOOMMM!! Breathe, gas, clutch, BREAK!!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb