Wrapping it up


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
January 30th 2005
Published: January 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It is just a couple of hours left for me here on the north-eastern coast of Australia. I am currently sitting in the internet cafe of Gilligan's Backpackers Resort in Cairns. This is probably the flashiest backpacker's place I have been to so far. Very good and clean rooms, well trained staff etc. Still it somehow feels wrong. I think it is because I'm a bit old fashioned and have this image of backpacking being a bit filthy thing. But as anyone travelling around Australia can probably tell, backpacking is moving to the next level: backpackers appear with Samsonite suitcases and beautycases, pulling their luggage on trolleys behind them - still a minority but probably being a harbinger of the next backpacking generation.

What else is there to tell about Cairns? From my point of view unfortunately not too much, as I have been somehow handicapped by a nasty cold that I must have caught while sailing in the Whitsundays or on one of the following days while travelling in the icebox called Oz Experience bus. It wasn't too much fun, but I will stop complaining right now 😊

I am actually looking forward to return to Perth, to the blue western Australian sky, the sunshine and the dry climate. The humidity in the tropics is really something differen... In the next couple of days I will upload some pictures and post more, especially about the trip on Fraser Island (which was the absolute highlight).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb