Finding Nemo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 25th 2007
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For each person there are certain things that are life “must-do’s” - you know, The List.
For me, diving the Great Barrier Reef is on there.

This Christmas Eve and Day for me were spent across the world far away, in the land down under.
There was no snow, there was no family, there was no cold. Instead of drinking eggnog and hot chocolate around fireplaces after trudging through snow in scarves and thick gloves, I was diving sans wetsuit in 29 degrees C waters chasing after sharks and holding inflated pufferfish in my hands in blasting heat in the tropics on some 3-day liveaboard boat in the middle of nowhere - solo with strangers.

Oh, and I forgot to mention Christmas Eve was under the most perfect full moon, calm waters, and no wind. I even found the Southern Cross in the sky while we spied on Roscoe getting hot’n’heavy with a busty lady in the jacuzzi on the deck below. Needless to say, I opted out of the 6:15 dive on Christmas Day.

What a crazy experience.

Merry Christmas everybody from the Great Barrier Reef!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 24; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb