A very hot blackpool


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
August 11th 2011
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A very quick blog entry today as I'm going out in a minute.

Flew up from Melbourne today, where we spent the last couple of days in the Yara valley - lots of vineyards and wineries, so had to do a bit of sampling of course!

Also saw some kangaroos hopping about and was woken up by wild cockatoos shouting outside the window. The down side was that it was very cold and raining - just like home in fact!

But here in Cairns it's warm and sunny again - 28 degrees, although it's 7.30pm now ( 10 am in England I think)
Going to Port Douglas tomorrow and taking a trip to the barrier reef.

I have heard briefly about some riots in the UK - saw something on the front of a paper in the newsagents window - hope it's not too bad,

I'll try and do a bit more tomorrow...

love Barbara


Advertisement



11th August 2011

News from home
According to the weather forecast last night you would be experiencing really heavy rain and 19 degrees if you were at home today. Riots, or more accurately mass lootings, were pretty bad. Catford got hit on the second night. As far as I know it has calmed down now, though I went to sleep to the sound of sirens at 9pm. Don't worry about us, we're fine - you carry on enjoying yourself.
11th August 2011

Riots
Eek the riots have been really bad but they're settling down now! Sounds like you're having a magical time - really loving reading your updates!
12th August 2011

You're better where you are!
I'm pleased you're having a good time, as it's rainy, windy, and depressing over here. The riots you heard about were mostly in London, but Manchester and Preston had some looting too. It took a couple of days for the police to get their act together, and the bad weather helped, but things seem to have calmed down now. Enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, I've heard it's amazing.
12th August 2011

riots
Barb the riots have been very, very bad - it's broken Britain, I'm afraid. It makes me feel ashamed. So glad you're enjoying your trip. :-)
13th August 2011

riots
I heard a bit more about those riots today :( It made me feel ashamed also, especially when australians were talking about it.... The trip is absolutely amazing, thanks. I'm loving every minute!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb