Atherton Table lands and Dust storm


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello from far away,

I hope you are all well. As you have probably seen on the news, Australia has been hit by a dust storm that covered New South Wales in a blanket of Red dust yesterday, whilst up in Cairns we had clear blue skies. But when we woke up this morning it looked more like the dusk. The smog had lost its red colour but visibility was poor and the dust left me with a tickle in my throat.

I have had a good week. Last Friday I went to the Atherton Tablelands. The Tropical Tablelands region encompasses an area of more than 65,000 sq. km. It took us about 1 hour to drive up the steep range. Myra and Stans Grandson drove. He is currently learning to drive. To gain a driver’s licence you have to complete 100 hours of driving, including different conditions such an unsealed roads. The temperature and humidity was lower than the coast. First we went to a coffee plantation. Then we went to ‘The Golden Drop’ winery (which was my favourite stop) The Mango wine was delicious! Next we went strawberry picking and stopped at the ‘Giant Fig curtain tree’, which wraps itself around a host tree!

I then had a busy weekend at work. The school holidays started last Friday so the city was busier than normal. I had a couple of day relaxing at the hotel pool, which I get free with my gym membership. I have attempted many of the classes and am definitely the most uncoordinated member. Going to body jam next week. I have been told that outrageous dance moves are encouraged!

I have spent the last couple of days out in Edmonton with the Jensens. Today we went to a beach called Yorkey’s Knob and had lunch at the marina.

Off to watch Neighbours now!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


ps I watched the film 'Austrailia' last night to really get in the spirit of things!I like a good love story .It is filmed in a town called Bowen which I will stop at on my way down the East coast.






Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

MG 0096MG 0096
MG 0096

I look like I am laying a strawberry


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb