Rum and Golden Syrup


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bundaberg
March 24th 2006
Published: March 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A BuildingA BuildingA Building

I dont know what sort of building
Bundaberg is famous for its Rum, So I thought it rude not to pay the distillery a visit. Having left my camera, watch and everything else in a locker to prevent me blowing the plant up with a miniscule spark, and having donned some sexy rented shoes (which I swear offer less protection than my fairly sturdy sandals...) I was off on the tour. The guides were interesting enough, but their sense of humour appeared to a generation gone by... a long time ago. Their attempts to 'get down with the kids' were shocking, and possibly even illegal! Cunningly the tour ended with a double tasting in which I tried Bundaberg Dark And Stormy (Bundaberg Rum w/ Bundaberg Ginger Beer) and Bundaberg Royal Liquer with cream (Rum, Sugar, Coffee, Sugar, Chocolate, Sugar). It was only after one gentleman thrust another free drink sample into my hand that I realised not having breakfast may have been something of a mistake.

Having left the distillery I staggered around town a little taking in the sights, grabbing a light lunch and drinking coffee before arriving back at the cellblock mid afternoon. A lot of people are still in bed, most haven't left the hostel all day. I speak to one person who has been here for 2 nights already. "What have you seen of the town?". "Nothing really, just been chilling here".

After dark had fallen I headed into town to grab some dinner (Crayfish and Thermidor Sauce), before heading back to the Hostel where a Golden Syrup wrestling match was in full swing between two scantily clad blondes, while a group of english lads in adidas shorts yelled "Rip her f*cking top off you...". Of course I watched, but only as a reasearch exercise ;-)

p.s. James (Furness) has critiscised me of being too 'family' in my writing of this blog, so I will now have to start using more rude words, and more graphical descriptions of Golden Syrup wrestling competitions...

Advertisement



26th March 2006

rude words
No rude words thank you very much remember your family is reading the blogs. Graphical descriptions are fine, the nannys like descriptions.
26th March 2006

Shame about the Storm..
Hey Alex. I too want to hear about the wrestling!!!! Hope all is well, real shame about the Whitsundays, its really good. But sure you will make it up somewhere! take care mate. Duncan

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb