My visit to Hong Kong


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 17th 2017
Published: April 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong, the birth place of Bruce Lee and Anita Mui (called daughter of HK) and the place where high sky-scrappers touch the sky.

I live in Brisbane, Australia's third largest city. Brisbane city is small and less crowded. Being in HK was therefore a different experience for me as the city is crowded and full

of high rise residential buildings.

I went to HK with a friend and mostly did my commute in taxis because taxi usually works out cheaper and more convenient if you can share the expenses with a co-traveller. Funny thing about taxi drivers in HK is that they keep talking on phone or watch videos on their mobile while driving which was strange for me as it is strictly prohibited in Australia.

HK mainly is made of Kowloon city and HK Island. I stayed in Kowloon. Both are equally good for travellers but you may see more sophisticated people and expats in HK Island. Showrooms of popular brands are huge, biggest I've ever seen.

I found HK pretty expensive. Coffee is A$ 8 which is double the price of a coffee in Australia. Food in restaurants was pretty much the same as in Australia though I expected it to be cheaper.

I'm a vegetarian so I was lucky to find some indian restaurants where I could have variety of veg options.

I was in HK for 5 days and there are a fair bit of things to see to keep me busy for 5 days. I went to pretty much all the Kowloon shopping malls, Mong Kok markets where you can get the cheaper stuff (don't forget to negotiate), HK Island, Victoria Peak and of course Disneyland (ticket is around A$95). I missed Budha statue though.

I also didn't take MTR which is believed to be a very efficient train link connecting the city. But If you're in HK you may want to try it as it works out cheaper especially if you are travelling alone.

Overall I loved HK and if I get a chance to go there again, I'll not hesitate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb