Day one - leaving for Istanbul


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 18th 2015
Published: April 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day one - about to fly to Istanbul

Having booked and paid for this trip 9 months ago, This day is finally here! It doesn't quite feel real yet!

Looking forward to meeting some of my fellow travellors from the Gallipoli forum I have been actively following on Facebook for about 6 months now.

A nice sleep in and time to pack today 14kg main luggage and just on 4kg hand luggage yah 16kg for shopping!!!

Late breakfast at home at 12 and a movie before we head to the airport.

The beauty I guess, (as I just found out) by flying with the same airline (Etihad) the whole way through is the need to only check in for a Domestic flight in Brisbane - all the way through to Istanbul with only needing to clear customs at Melbourne - through the priority line... I hate queues and I love this option - sadly won't be so fortunate on the way home now... but will see how I go with a Gold pass. I am getting quite fond of being the fiancee of a Platinum frequent flyer - with all the works.

I have never flown with this airline before, so I am really looking forward to how they stack up against the other major airlines.



Although I am equally nervous and excited about this adventure and I am not looking forward to this being my longest flight, but I am just as excited about being able to access the First Class lounge in Abu Dhabi.

As this day grew closer and closer the excitement has been growing inside me - albeit mixed with emotion of being in the same location as my ancestors were 100 years ago, fighting for the freedom we all have today - Lest We Forget.



Stay safe my fellow travelers and meet you on the other side of the world 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb