Brisbane, Gold Coast, and the Australia Zoo!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 19th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well everyone, it happened! The day I have been waiting for since I was 8 years old. I finally got the chance to spend a day at the Australia Zoo!! Anyone who knows me knows I have been Steve Irwins bigget fan since I was 8 years old. I would come home from school, turn on the TV and become entranced with episode after episode of the Crocodile Hunter. I wanted nothing more than to spend a day at the Australia Zoo with the man himself, Steve Irwin. When he passed my heart broke, but I was more determined than ever to see the zoo. Obviously, when I got the opportunity to come to Australia for four months, the zoo was number one on my list of things to do once I got here. And it got checked off this past weekend! But, we will get to the zoo later 😉 for now, lets start at the beginning!



We woke up, well I woke up, at 6:30 Thursday morning to eat breakfast at 7 am with my adventure buddy, Lance who would be accompaining me on this three day trip to Brisbane, an hour flight north of Sydney. However, Lance had different ideas. He woke up at 7:15..so I was stuck basically in heart attack mode until I saw him struttin down the hallway quarter past 7. Luckily that was the only heart attack I had the enitre trip! The rest went extremely smooth. We rented a car so we explored the Gold Coast and Surfers Paradise which is just South of Brisbane. And let me tell you, Surfers Paradise is the perfect name for this stunning beach. The water shined in the setting sun while people swam and hung out on the golden sands. There was also a net ball tournament right on the beach that we got to watch for a bit while lounging in beanbag chairs. I would explain what net ball is, but its kinda confusing. All I know is that its similar to basketball, but there isnt a backboard, and there are way more rules..any way, that was pretty sweet!

Next we headed up the coast to our hostel for the night. But before we did, we went for a little drive through the town of Beerwah, home of the Australia Zoo! We saw the zoo at night and drove on Steve Irwin Way, doing the typical tourist thing of getting out of the car and taking pictures with the sign for the street. We got out of the car again the next day just to get more pictures with a different sign of the same street! We stopped at Subway, then headed back on route to the hostel. Oh and the entire time we were driving we barely used a map, only using our gut feeling, street signs, and the occasional google maps from our phone. But the phone was only really used if we were definetly lost, which did not happen a lot of the time

Back to the story! The next day, we woke up bright and early to spend the entire day at the zoo! We arrived before the gates even opened. We were the second ones in the parking lot and some of the first people in line to get in. The only way I can explain the zoo is like walking into your favorite dream. Before you walk into the zoo, you see pictures of Steve Irwin every where. Inside the zoo is very similar. As soon as you walk in there is a statue of the Irwin family waiting to greet you. Along with the statue, there are people holding real life animals for pictures and informational talks. I got to pet a koala and see the most beautiful bird up close 😊 After we walked in we explore the different animal exibits, pet some kangaroos and koalas, then went to the Croc shows! I was hoping Bindi and Terri Irwin would be there, but no worries! Just anothe reason to go back 😊 The crocodile shows were incredible! Seeing in person what I had only seen on television for so many years was beyond amazing. Its hard to explain over blogging the emotions I felt throughout this entire day. It was very surreal being there and seeing the Crocodile Hunter every where. I would say I wish he could have been there, because I do, but it is obvious just how much he left here at the zoo and how big of an impact he left on the world 😊

After the zoo we headed back to the hostel where Lance accidently slept for three hours haha! We had made a plan to go to an aquarium the next day, which is what we did! It wasnt as incredible as the Australia Zoo, but it was still once of the best Aquariums I have been to, and I have been to many. The best part of this day though was when I got picked to feed a seal during the seal show we went to! I never get picked for anything, so when the trainer said, "I pick the girl in the middle with the blonde hair!" I imedietly freaked out! I was instructed to stand at the edge of the exhibit, hold a dead fish in my hand high over the water, and hope the seal did not bite any of fingers off. When it happned I accidently closed my eyes, (you can see it in the pictures I uploaded, sadly), but it will still one of the most incredible expereinces of my life.

This weekend was just what I needed during a time of homesickness and stress. Being able to just get away for a while, even if it was just three days, was perfect. I can now say that I have check most everything off of my bucketlist including going to the Australia Zoo and feeding a seal haha

Next stop: Ten days campervan adventure in New Zealand!!

After New Zealand? HOME!!!!!



Wish me luck!!



-A <3

Advertisement



19th October 2014

"ADDIE!"
I am so happy for you and your realizing your dreams, I remember you watching Steve Irwin and how sad you were at his passing. Now all you need to fulfill all your dreams is to "adopt a little person," and you're all set. I love you my "Addie Burger," so much it hurts sometime. Safe travels, my darling "grandtwindaughter." Grandma
19th October 2014

"ADDIE!"
I am so happy for you and your realizing your dreams, I remember you watching Steve Irwin and how sad you were at his passing. Now all you need to fulfill all your dreams is to "adopt a little person," and you're all set. I love you my "Addie Burger," so much it hurts sometime. Safe travels, my darling "grandtwindaughter." Grandma

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb