'cause the time is right


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 15th 2013
Published: September 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

loversloverslovers

at lunch Caloundra
(a few photos from our time between trips)



When someone asks us why we want to go, well the answer is really quite easy…. Because the time is right!



At this particular point in our lives, well the fact is that our lives couldn’t be any more perfect. We love each other dearly, we have a beautiful personal relationship with our 13 year old best friend, our dog, Bailey, with whom we are forever chatting to, we have a comfortable house in the heart of a gorgeous city, Brisbane. In fact, lying on our 3 seater couch, relaxing, watching television, Luke Nguyen’s Greater Mekong with any luck, with just the 3 of us in the room, is by far and away my favourite spot in the world. Our careers are really booming as well. Suz was recently promoted to a HR Business Partner, was given the highest honours in her performance review, given a nice healthy bonus for all her efforts, and has a great working relationship with all of her colleagues. My job as an Associate Structural Engineer is also really enjoyable at the moment too. I’m having great success bringing a lot of
strike a posestrike a posestrike a pose

Powerhouse
new work and new clients into the business. My role and my team are starting to become very self sustainable and I’m really starting to kick some goals as a local industry leader in the structural steel design. A few weeks ago I was offered an opportunity to buy into our small integrated architecture and engineering company. We have also been living exactly the lifestyle we want to be living, and on top of it all have been able to save a substantial amount of cash ion the process. Some may say we are lucky!



Well, to some degree I would have to agree, to have come across each other about 15 years ago could well have had a portion of luck involved. However to have made it through the trials and tribulations that a demanding relationship brings these days, we have had to work damn hard on. Our successful careers and great salaries certainly didn’t fall into our laps. I moved out of home at the age of 17, put myself through university, paid my own way working part time jobs whilst studying full time, did long, long hours in the office to get ahead of
CheersCheersCheers

lve an ice cold beer on a hot sunny brissie day
the pack and turbo charge my self-development. I’ve been at the same company for 9 years now, with an 18 month career break to travel and work through the UK and Europe. This means my long service leave is literally just around the corner. Suz has come from a similar place in her life, although she was fortunate enough to have a very stable family value. For instance she only ever lived in one family home until the age of around 21, when she then moved out with me. However, financially she has also worked part time jobs through uni and paid her own way. She still has a healthy government University debt to show for it J. She is in tight now with upper management including the CEO of her business unit, and her charge up the corporate ladder has been nothing short of damn impressive.



So one may then ask, if things are so damn perfect, “why travel at all, and why is the time so right”?



Well the “why travel” is a simple answer, I love to travel, I love to read about other people’s travels, I love to plan my
odds on favouriteodds on favouriteodds on favourite

at the races
next travels, I get excited by exotic foods, I smile infectiously when I see a foreigner smiling in Brisbane. And Suz? Well she loves travelling, but moreso in a reactive sort of way. She doesn’t plan like I do, she doesn’t even really enjoy talking about it like I do, but once she is on the road, she soon gets the passion for it, and dives face first into the culture, the history , and the art of long term travel life. What I did notice over the last 18 months or so was that I get drawn to SE Asian blogs, I get excited by SE Asian food, and I even find the most warmth with a SE Asian’s smile. So I think it’s pretty safe to say, we will be heading for SE Asia… at least initially.



And the “why is the time so right”, for us is just as easy to respond to. Why the heck not now? I have just turned 30, and Suz is just around the corner. We are healthy, we have 10 fingers and 10 toes each. We have no kids, although we do want kids in just a few short years. Our fortunate career positions are such that we are able to take career breaks, with guaranteed jobs when we get back to reality. We have a good friend who is coming out of her lease, and is very keen to rent out our home and look after our dog, she has little furniture, so we have no need to pay for expensive storage



So to us the timing just couldn’t be more perfect!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

whattup?whattup?
whattup?

who said you could take my photo
festival timefestival time
festival time

with KK off to a festival
fire it upfire it up
fire it up

Mt Tambourine
boys tripboys trip
boys trip

happy to have a photo taken! with sheep and Foley in Melbourne
on the way outon the way out
on the way out

not that shirt again!
StimpyStimpy
Stimpy

pulling the sad face
grinnersgrinners
grinners

Vince and Stacey
bar time brisvegasbar time brisvegas
bar time brisvegas

A&C with Jen and Krystal
more lovemore love
more love

out and about town
yo!yo!
yo!

soundwave with the boys
chilling in the shadechilling in the shade
chilling in the shade

damn break downs


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb