Cheating on the David Lloyd Triathlon club


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 10th 2013
Published: January 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning I extended, all be it very slightly, my morning run. I didn’t notice the temperature being any hotter than normal on my run, but the cycle to work was crazily hot, even at 7.15am. It took Rowena and I a fair while once we arrived to cool down, even with the air con blasting! Another day of working on the Chromos, proof reading documents and bits and pieces. This evening I decided to try a local triathlon club (Reddog club) swimming session I had seen advertised at the swimming pool I now frequent fairly often. When I checked the website I was required to take fins with me – thinking this was a new piece of tri equipment I was not familiar with I looked it up online, but no, it is just normal flippers you would use for scuba diving…..strange!

I turned up to the session at 6.15pm, and the coach was very friendly. I was chatting with several of the other swimmers there, and one explained the speeds on the lanes to help me know which one to choose. He looked a little shocked when I maintained to stand in front of the middle lane and when the time came hopped in it. After the warm up however, the coach promptly moved me up to the fastest lane, and after a few laps I was leading the lane out. Often the people leading the lane don’t like having their spot taken from them but everyone was very nice and complementary about my swimming and the coach was eager for me to come back next week.

We used the fins for most of the session, apparently they help you practise your kick, not that I have ever practised that in Triathlon, as I was always taught not to use my legs, and save them for the cycle and the run, but it is always good to do leg work. It was, in its entirety, a very enjoyable session - a good work out and nice to have a change from ploughing up and down the lane by myself! Another triathlon club also train at the pool, the ‘cyos’ so I may check out one of their sessions at some point as well, may as well try out as much and diverse things as I can while I am here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb