Trying a new sport: Under Water Hockey


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 3rd 2013
Published: January 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Morning run, breakfast and relax before cycling to work at 7.15am. Leaving the house 15mins earlier makes a lot of difference to the heat, and too my surprise I didn’t even break a sweat by the time I got to work. Continued working on my documents from yesterday and the day soon whizzed passed. The benefit of starting early is that after lunch you only have a few hours before home time. I could get used to this flexy time!

This evening I was off to try out a new sport – Under Water Hockey. According to very reliable source, the Australian’s play the best under water hockey in the world, so I thought whilst I was here I may as well give it a go! The pool is about 20mins away in the car, so not too far. When I arrived it took a while to find the pool on the massive complex, but I found it and headed inside feeling quite nervous. The people were lovely and one of the committee got me all kitted out with a glove, stick and fins, and I borrowed Rowenas mask and snorkel.

I was taught how to duck dive to get to the bottom then practised hitting the puck along the bottom, all fairly straight forward, it was just trying to remember to give myself enough time to get to the surface to breathe in time! The game consist of six players on each team, with two teams, one wither end of the pool, with the aim of pushing the puck along the pool bottom into the goal at one end.

To start with I was allowed to play in the game as an extra player for one team, just so I got a feel for the game and after a while I just played as normal. It’s a very bizzare game to get used to, you have the majority of players all diving to the bottom of the pool trying to get the puck with no order or structure, so around the puck you just have a sea of arms, legs and fins. Apart from not being able to hold your breath for long enough, the hardest thing is to get to the surface to breathe without getting hit by people diving down and fins. I enjoyed trying something new, and I did manage to get to the puck and hit it on several occasions, which apparently is rather good for my first time.

I got home, had some dinner as I was quite hungry after all the excitement of the evening and headed to bed.

Advertisement



5th January 2013

new sport - seems crazy
Well I guess it was fun - but it looks crazy! Glad you enjoyed the tennis ! Wow - working - a novelty and a bit of a shock to the system! Look for you on Skype over weekend - love dad x

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb