More city sights


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 19th 2012
Published: December 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

After last night’s storm it was a lot cooler, and a nice temperature on my run this morning.

Headed off to the station at 8am to catch the train into the city. I got off at South Bank and wandered through the CBD to the bus stop, on my way past I stopped in Brisbane square as there was a massive market selling local and fresh fruit and veg, homemade cakes, speciality chocolate, breads, cheeses, museli and I treated myself to a fresh raw juice with lime and ginger – very refreshing.

I caught the bus to Mt Coo-tha, the other part of the botanical gardens I didn’t get to on Monday. Spent several hours wandering through the gardens but I much preferred the one in the city with all the flowers. These gardens were very tropical and full of trees, and no pretty flowers or colours. There was a lookout point at the top however with great views over Brisbane CBD.

I caught the bus back to the city and wandered round the streets of South Bank looking for a burrito bar I had seen when we drove into the area on Sunday. After a bit of wandering I managed to locate it and re-fuelled, it was good but not near the standard on the ones Heidi and I had in Dublin.

I then headed over to the art gallery to see the main gallery this time. Well, firstly, there wasn’t much to the gallery, around 30 painting maximum, and secondly it only seemed to display paintings on three themes – god, portraits of people I don’t know (and no explanation who they were) and the English countryside. So in essence, I wouldn’t pop over just for the gallery, and granddad, your paintings are a lot better!

After the gallery, I headed back to South Bank, went for a swim and relaxed on the fake beach for several hours, enjoying the sunshine and reading my book. The evening consisted of Rowena and I going for a walk in the park and Matt making wedges for dinner, before I collapsed into bed.

Advertisement



24th December 2012

It's Christmas !!!
Hi Kate - well its Christmas Eve - we are wishing you a wonderful Christmas in Australia - hope its everything you ever imagined it would be - you have some wonderful friends and are enjoying some amazing experiences. love dad x

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb