A trip to the Zoo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 18th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have given in and am now living on ‘locals’ time, meaning I get up at 5am to play sport and do things. People here seem to utilise their mornings like we do our evenings, and running at this time is FAR more sensible.

Getting up at 5am also means I can have a leisurely morning at a relaxed pace, perfect way to start the morning.

Matt was off the station to catch the train to Uni, so I grabbed a lift with him at got on the 7.27am train into Central station. From here I then navigated to the correct platform, not too much of a challenge once I sussed the boards, and caught the train out to Beerwah station for the zoo. From home to Beerwah the journey took around 2.5 hours, and even in peak time it only cost me $12….so around £8, could you imagine trains costing that little in the UK?

Once in the park I headed straight for the elephant area and fed two elephants. Their trunks are quite rough and muddy but it was amazing to get so close. I spent the rest of the day wandering around the zoo, looking at all the animals and pretending I was a wildlife photographer. I held a kuwala, though I felt a bit sorry for it, just being handed backwards and forwards to people, but it was very cute, and then headed to watch the wildlife show. They brought out an amazing array of brightly coloured tropical birds which flew round the area, some rather large looking snakes I wouldn’t want to mess with, and some even larger crocodiles I wouldn’t even want to have the pleasure of meeting!

After exploring every area of the zoo, and thoroughly exhausted by the heat I caught the shuttle back to the train station and made my way home.

Tuesday Matt goes to army reserves, so Rowena and I have decided to make Tuesday eves ‘Girly night’. After a very refreshing shower and getting into my comfy shorts and t-shirt, Rowena and I settled down to watch the movie ‘Julia & Julia’. For those who haven’t seen it, it won’t change your life but it’s a very easy watch. During the course of the evening, the storm which has been forecasted finally hit. The thunder and lightning was AMAZING, and then the rain came and boy did it pour. We were watching it with the doors open, and hoping that it would reduce the humidity so we could all start to sleep properly again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 4; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb