Finally Here


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 3rd 2012
Published: September 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Stradbroke IslandStradbroke IslandStradbroke Island

View from Point Lookout
Did I mention in the last blog that the flight would be long?? Well, I can now officially confirm that it was REALLY long. I spent over 30 hours traveling and gave up hope of ever getting here after about 20 hours in.



But, good news, I made it!! We left the airport and went directly to the biology research station at Stradbroke Island. We spent 5 days with four people in a room the size of my closet. However, we were barely in our rooms because we were either on the beach, in class, or exploring the land. There were some amazing views and we saw kangaroos and koalas on the island too!!



Friday evening (8/31) we moved into our homestays and got to know our really great host family. The house is full with our host parents, Jacqui and Ian, their daughter, Fran, her husband and absolutely adorable 8-month old baby, 3 dogs and 2 cats. I’ve always wanted a dog growing up so I’m trying to make up for it with all these pets at once.



The next day, Jacqui showed Alexa and me around the University of Queensland campus (better known as Uni) and the main downtown strips. I finally got a prepaid cell phone (it’s definitely no iPhone) and learned how to use the extremely confusing bus system that will be my lifeline for the next 3 months.



Sunday was really fun because we went to the Brisbane Lions’ Aussie Rules Football game. Even though I had no idea how to play, it wasn’t too hard to pick up on the basics. They pass the ball, which looks like an oval volleyball, by kicking, punching or throwing underhand and can only take a certain number of steps before passing again. Kicking through the center two posts is worth 6 points and through the outside posts scores 1. They crushed the other team, which was pretty exciting because it was the last game of the season. Go Lions!



Today (9/3) I had my first day of class at Uni. We explored the campus a bit more and had more formal class meetings. It sadly reminded me that I’m here for school and not vacation. Ok, who am I kidding? Vacation is still a big part of it.



This week will be pretty low key as classes pick up and we settle in a bit more. This weekend we’re going to check out the night life a some more and start planning trips for long weekends. More on that later!

Advertisement



8th October 2012

Happy Birthday!
Sorry we didn't get to wishing you a Happy Birthday sooner. We were thinking of you, but just didn't send you a card. What a great place to turn 20. You are so lucky and you will never forget what you did that day. We're enjoying your blog and looking forward to reading it more. I just haven't been on the computer much. Love, Uncle Don & Aunt Joyce

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb